We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful house in Tobermory”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Toll a Balla

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your arrival at Craignure by Calmac ferry Colourful Tobermory harbour - children will know it as Balamory
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Your arrival at Craignure by Calmac ferry
Colourful Tobermory harbour - children will know it as Balamory
the kitchen which leads off the living room
view from the master bedroom
the study area of the living room
the downstairs loo and shower
staircase to the bedrooms and upstairs bathroom
The second double bedroom
Upstairs shower
The 'Peploe' in the kitchen is oil on canvas. Presumably a student's copy as it cost only £10!!
On the wall is a facsimile of the letter Mendelssohn wrote from Mull.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nicholas...
1 review
“Delightful house in Tobermory”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed at Toll a Balla with my partner and two of our friends. The house was perfect for us, with plenty of dining and lounging space on the first floor (there was more seating in the living area than the photos would suggest), and comfortable bedrooms with large windows on the second. It was fairly cool during our stay in Mull, but the house stayed quite warm. The kitchen was well-equipped, and it was great to have two bathrooms with showers. The photos don't do justice to how charming the house is; it's a very thoughtfully and tastefully restored old home. The location was also ideal, on the main street in Tobermory with gorgeous views to the harbour, but set back from the street so that it's quiet and private. It was nice to have the town at our doorstep, especially on a rainy day. (Don't miss the Mull Museum! Full of small town histories and curiosities, with very friendly staff.) I would highly recommend Toll a Balla; it was a great base for exploring Tobermory and Mull.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“great”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

great accomodation, very clean and tidy, very convenient for us (baby cot, baby toys, washing machine which is also a dryer, high chair...), great location in Tobermory.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the fire place
Liked least: the mattress
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollyK74
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Don't want to leave!”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived yesterday at Toll a Balla for a weeks self catering holiday in Mull. It would be fair to say that the reviews left on trip advisor, although positive, do not capture how quaint and quirky this property is. It has everything we need to look after a family, and the location is a prime setting. Most likely we shall book again for subsequent visits to the island as we are super pleased with our holiday rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property and how it had an individual feel to it inside
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor L
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a home for winter time... at the mo”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly Marilyn was fantastic, and really tried her best to look after us when things went wrong. The house is in an incredible location , just off the high street and allowed us to pop out for 5 minutes for the bells at midnight on NYeve.

But the house just isn't set up for winter. We really struggled with the heating, its was freezing, the rooms were very musty and damp and with two young children it was a strain. We had to move around a portable heater to try and keep rooms warm and when one broke, I had to go to the local shop to buy more heaters (but Marilyn did reimburse me for this immediately
I wouldn't recommend the house for a winter time stay, BUT I can imagine in Spring and summer its incredible.
As I say, great location. I think if a little money was spent on the rooms (the back bedroom inparticular had uncomfortable beds with slats that kept moving and a broken curtain) then the house has potential to be incredible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: damp and cold
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2015
Thanks Eleanor for your feedback.
I have taken your comments on board.
Please come back in the summer and see Mull, and Toll a Balla at its best.
Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil P
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Gem with Loads of Character”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My wife and I were here for 5 days in October with two teenage daughters.
Location of property is excellent, handy for shops/pubs/restaurants etc
Property is tastefully decorated with some very interesting art pieces dotted around.
Lovely and cosy with the radiators but very toasty with the real fire. Although there was some coal supplied I popped to the CO-OP two mins away for a bag of wood although we didn't use it all in the end!
Two main front bedrooms are beautifully decorated and both have lovely views over the harbour. The back bedroom was a bit darker but to be expected given its location.
Kitchen had every utensil you could ever need!
Both toilets/shower-rooms were spotless.
Washer/drier was very useful
Teenagers loved the broadband wi-fi.
Will certainly stay again should we return to Tobermory.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor
Liked least: Not a lot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing