We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Back Brae Lodge

Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous coloured buildings in Tobermory.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous coloured buildings in Tobermory.
Location below Western Isles Hotel. Kitchen and dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous coloured buildings in Tobermory.
Location below Western Isles Hotel.
Kitchen and dining area.
Living area.
Living area with partition closed.
Dining and living area.
Double sofabed closed.
Double sofabed open.
Upper entrance.
Some local Tobermory products.
Main bedroom.
Main bedroom with sink.
Main bedroom with full length mirror.
Bedroom
Bedroom
Time for a nap.
Upper stairway.
Lower stairway.
Bathroom with shower and bath.
Lobby and drying room.
Decking by rock face.
Entrances to Back Brae Lodge
Main Street, Tobermory
Elvis the otter.
White tailed sea eagle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Phil C
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in March and so just pre-season. Accommodation was great and everything you could wish for. So central, but so quiet. Clean, spacious, great facilities from a very thoughtful owner, with the nice little touch of a welcoming gift. Felt so relaxed in a very welcoming property. Mull is great and Tobermory is a fantastic little town. Can't believe it took me so long to go back, but we will go again soon, now that I have ticked the Munro.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location AND the facilities were excellent
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda D
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable of high quality and a joy to come back to!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013

We loved it here!
Back Brae Lodge was everything we were expecting. Tobermory was a lovely place to be based, every convenience was on your doorstep which was particularly good for us staying here in November! The weather was typical four seasons in one day, having said that it didn't stop us from getting out in it and seeing some fabulous wildlife (Otters, White tailed Eagles, Red Deer, Herons, Seals, Hen Harriers, Highland Cattle and not forgetting Mcginty the marvellous Tobermory Cat!
Back Brae Lodge was a great place to call home for our week. It was warm, clean and very comfortable. We have no hesitation to recommend it to you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked it all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastc accommodation, weather and location.”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have had a fantastic week on Mull staying inthe very well appointed Back Brae Lodge. There was everything anyone could want in the property, it was clean, warm and welcoming. The area was a great place to be based, we had no car but getting around and doing what we wanted was no problem at all. we had a great day out with Arthur Brown from Discover Mull. We saw Sea Eagles, Otters, Golden Eagles and lots more and Pams homemade cooking was the icing on the cake. We also did the walk to the lighthouse and the one to Aros park, we would recommend both but do make sure you take a drink. A great holiday, great location and we hope to go back again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the property from bed to knives and forks.
Liked least: The lock on the entrance door ( very hard to lock and unlock).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonSco...
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Back Brae Lodge has everything needed for a relaxing stay on the beautiful Isle of Mull. We were lucky to have great weather so did not spend a lot of time indoors but the house is a great place to come back to after a busy day. It is perfectly situated, just set back from the harbour so within a few footsteps of a selection of bars and restaurants. The kitchen is very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The lovely shortbread was most welcome after travelling as were the wee bottles from the local distillery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnybank...
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful... relaxing stay in Tobermory. Definatley recommend highly”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Recently returned from our stay at Back Brae Lodge in Tobermory.
We loved the lodge very much. so spacious and airy. Everything we needed over or stay was there to hand. Loved the fact that we had 2 floors to live in. Excellent accommodation that we will recommend to our friends and family.
We felt the cost for the lodge was excellent value.
The information leaflets and walking plans available were both interesting and informative. We loved the walk to the lighthouse ( short half hour walk)
I love photography and art so Tobermory and Mull we just perfect. We were very lucky to have had a good week of weather too. Driving around Mull is easy too, quiet roads ... always good
A definite MUST is the boat trip to visit Staffa Island and the Isle of Lunga ...the puffins were truly wonderful and they were so close ...only a few feet away.
Location and accommodation highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing I can think of.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 84
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing