We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“outstanding yet again xx”
other travellers have booked this property
Oakfield Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oakfield Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Oakfield Cottage
Sunrise from the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
heather f
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding yet again xx”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just back from out third visit to mull and Oakfield Cottage and it gets better every time. The cottage is in the perfect place to explore Tobemory and the rest of Mull with the most amazing views.

The cottage is really well equipped, comfortable and very safe if you have small children as stairgates can be fitted as well as cots and highchairs provided by Jean which makes the whole trip stress free. The children loved the wonderful garden and spent many happy hours playing there. We were lucky enough to get nightly visits from a hedgehog near the bird tables whilst we were sat in the lounge looking out to the garden.

The cottage is a short walk from all the amenities, there are plenty of good restaurants serving good quality food and everyone is very welcoming. Buses run close by too.

By far the 'grandest' house in Mull!!!!

I am going to miss our night time exploring walks so much but we will be back soon.

Best wishes to Jean and Alasdair xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very well equipped, if you need it, Jean had already thought of it.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Hello and thank you very much for your very positive review. It was a real pleasure to see you all again and to meet the newest member of the family. We hope to see you next year.
Our very best wishes to you all.
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay on the Isle of Mull”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful Easter break on the Isle of Mull. The cottage exceeded our expectations - spacious, clean and very comfortable. The children (aged 4 and 1) really enjoyed their week especially being able to make use of the lovely garden and climbing frame and also the box of toys and buckets and spades provided. There is much to do on the island for a young family including visits to the amazing beaches and a trip over to Iona. Jean and Alasdair made us very welcome and even left Easter eggs for our Easter egg hunt - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Hello Dawn
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a very positive review for your stay at Oakfield Cottage.We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the children made good use of the toys and the garden.
Hopefully we will see you all again in the not too distant future.
Very best wishes from Tobermory
Alasdair and Jean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusymumEa...
East Kilbride
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and spacious cottage”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights in November. Cottage was clean, warm,comfortable,spacious and well equipped. There were loads of games and books and DVDs provided. We felt very much at home.There was a huge garden with a swing set that my daughter enjoyed and the views from the garden were fabulous. I heard there are hedgehogs there but didn't manage to spot one. The cottage is in a quiet lane just past the Western Isles hotel which is near enough to shops that you could easily walk but also peaceful and secluded.You might think coming to Mull in November was a rather foolish thing to do and there were some concerns over the ferry but I'm glad we did. The autumn colours were vivid and the views breathtaking. We saw loads of wildlife during our time there including deer on 3 separate occasions. Also it was good to travel along the scenic routes as there wasn't a lot of traffic about which made things easier on some of the single track roads.There are some lovely shops in Tobermory. We made our own food mostly but did go to the Fish & Chip van at the seafront which comes highly recommended. The people who own the cottage were very helpful as was the lady who looks after it for them. I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
Hello and thank you very much for your review for Oakfield Cottage, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We were so sorry that circumstances meant we didn't meet you, we aim to be available for all our guests. Hopefully we will meet up when you come for your next stay with us.
Very best wishes
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william b
1 review
“Superb accommodation with stunning views and a warm welcome”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The owners, Jean and Alasdair, have given great attention to detail in the accommodation. It is extremely comfortable and immaculate throughout. A well equipped kitchen rounds off everything you may need for a enjoyable stay. The outlook from the property is fantastic and the town and harbor are just a short walk away. Our first trip to the Isle of Mull could not have been better - we look forward to our next one.
Thank you very much Jean and Alasdair.
Ali and Bill
York

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Hello - thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfield Cottage and we hope that its not too long till we see you both back again.
Very best wishes
Alasdair and Jean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki G
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant family accommodation in excellent location with fantastic hosts!”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The whole experience of Oakfield cottage has been pleasurable. From the initial enquiry about the property to the day we left the service from the owners has been exceptional, they genuinely make you feel welcome and at home.
The property was only a short walk in to the main centre but is located so it looks it has a stunning view. The cottage is extremely well equipped from the kitchen utensils to the extensive range of books and DVDs.
The property is great for children, ours aged 7 and 9 enjoyed playing in the garden and watching the birds feed outside the window.
This was our first visit to Mull and we have already planned a return visit next year back to Oakfield Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Hello Nicki
Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at Oakfield Cottage. It was a real pleasure to meet you all, we will look forward to welcoming you back next year - thank you very much for your booking for 2016.
Very best wishes
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing