We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The place we'd always stay in Tobermory!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue R
Edgworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The place we'd always stay in Tobermory!”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is the second time we've stayed at Spey Cottage. We thought the cottage was great the first time. But this year we were even more impressed as various renovations have been made including a very smart new bathroom and shower. The cottage is well situated on the road parallel to the front. It is extremely quiet and there is ample road parking. There are also sea views from the bedrooms. The garden is at the rear.It is absolutely beautiful and has all the equipment you could need for outdoor relaxing and dining. The inside of the cottage is spacious and is very well (and tastefully!) furnished- log fire, posh TV, bedlinen from Marks and Spencer, crockery from Habitat, really nice pictures on the walls etc. There are ample facilities for cooking and for washing and drying clothes. All in all, the owners have kept the character of the place whilst making it extremely efficient and comfortable. The owners themselves are extremely supportive and pleasant to deal with. I don't think I've ever stayed in a cottage (or gite) which has given me so much pleasure and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Tobermory.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review for Spey Cottage and we were delighted to welcome you back once again. We really get a lot of enjoyment in making sure our guests have a great time and that they love their stay on the beautiful Island of Mull. We're delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you approved of the many positive changes we have made and we hope to welcome you back at some time in the not too distant future. Very best wishes from Tobermory. Kind regards Iain & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan I
1 review
“Something old/Something New”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Having spent the last five years at Spey Cottage, we arrived once again in April to enjoy the delights of Tobermory. The recent upgrades to the property were immediately noticeable and work brilliantly with the existing characteristics of this old house. Modern, clean, with period features this is a great house for a family getaway right in the heart of Tobermory. We love it, I'm sure you will too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
Hi Alan
Really nice review, thanks so much. Its good to know that our guests appreciate the new touches that have been made.
Thanks for your continued custom over the years. We really value our returning guests and appreciate your continued custom. hopefully you'll be back before too long. Best wishes from Tobermory.
Kind regards Iain & Susan"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanshep...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent pet friendly accommodation”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My family and I have stayed here several times over the years as it has everything we need, it's clean, fresh and very welcoming. The garden is a lovely tranquil spot to enjoy morning coffee and breakfast The location is great, it is family friendly and great that we can take our dog. I highly recommend this place to family and friends whom have also enjoyed it here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for your continued custom over the years. We really value our returning guests and hope you'll be back before too long.
Best wishes from Tobermory.
Kind regards
Iain & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheena53q...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Highland island getaway, escape the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Spey Cottage is ideally situated, just a short 5 minute walk down to the centre of Toberymory where you will find lovely shops, pubs and restaurants. Beautiful and tastefully decorated throughout, with everything we needed to make our trip easy and enjoyable. This was my second trip to Spey Cottage, I loved it the first time but was even more delighted on this trip. It has been tastefully upgraded to have that feeling of luxury (love the new bathroom) without losing the character of the cottage. I was particularly excited about the addition of the woodburning stove - it really added to that feeling of a cosy, fishing cottage.
Tobermory was just the place we needed as a family to relax and explore. Plenty to do and places to see, or just sit at the harbour and watch the world go by. My son and husband enjoyed an afternoon learning how to fly fish (unfortunately they all got away but we made do with wonderful fish and chips from the van on the pier!). We had a great day out at Duart Castle learning all about the Maclean Clan, and then a visit to Calgary Beach - our dog adored the beautiful, white sands!
Eating out in Tobermory is easy - from lovely pub food, fish and chips or more high end restaurants for something a bit more special.
Writing this review has made me think .... time to book a return trip, so many happy memories!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you for such a fantastic review. It sounds like you really made the most of your stay on Mull and at Spey Cottage. We'd love to welcome you back again and maybe this time the fish wont get away!
Best wishes from Tobermory.
Kind regards
Iain & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril149
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is a really lovely cottage in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Spey cottage is in a really good location and has everything you need for a perfect holiday. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed some great wildlife sightings. Firsts for us were: Dolphins, Minky Whale, Manx Sheer-waters and Arctic Skua. Plus some of our favorites White tailed Sea Eagles, Golden Eagles, Stone-chat, Wheatear and Turnstones.
The facilities in the cottage are first class and we would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Parking is easy and it's just a short walk down into Tobermory with some good restaurants and a well stocked Coop. If your doing a lot of shopping I'd recommend using the car, but going out for a meal in the evening and walking back was fine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
Wow, what a great review and thanks for listing all the amazing wildlife sightings. We always get a great buzz when our guests really enjoy Mull. Hopefully it wont be too long before you get a chance to come back.
Very best wishes from Tobermory.
Kind regards
Iain & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing