We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Cottage from beach View from bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Cottage from beach
View from bedroom 1
Sunset from our beach
Inner hall
Local beach
walk from cottage
Sammy seal at ferry near cottage we feed him fish we catch
View of cottage in the distance from Iona
Sunset at cottage
Cottage from side
Cottage from left
Local 'Market beach'
Local beach near Erraid
View from right of cottage beach.
Sunset from cottage July 2012
Beach & good find !!
Sunset on our beach from garden
Dinning area - double doors to garden/beach
View from bedroom
Jackie & Scruffy on our beach.
We get some strange sky’s at our cottage.
Cottage from beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fionnphort, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracey H
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a special place to spend a family christmas and I had a long list of criteria. The cottage was everything that I had wished for and more. I can only re-iterate the other reviews: the location is stunning; the cottage is cosy and well equipped; there is a pub and a shop across the road. Our family had a fantastic holiday and we hope that someday we can return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2018
Hi Tracey
Many thanks for your kind review and hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickF7777...
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mull, beach-side - outstanding!”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I think I read somewhere that this house has the finest location of any holiday let on Mull. I don't know if that's correct because I've not visited them all - but it must be very near the top of the list. The view from the house is across the Sound of Iona, to Iona. And the gate at the bottom of the garden opens directly onto the beach and is only about 5 metres from the high tide line. Superb!

It is within walking distance of The Ninth Wave which I feel sure is the best restaurant on Mull, and quite possibly the best in all the Hebrides. At the other end of the cost-scale, a scallops and black-pudding roll from The Creel at the Fionnphort ferry slipway - 300m metres from the house - has to be the best breakfast I've ever had!

The house itself is very comfortable: outstandingly well-equipped and very tastefully furnished and decorated. It looks like a "home", not a rental! I would have no hesitation in recommending this house to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your kind review Nick.
We do hope you return soon.
You would be certainly welcome.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellystorr...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Where can I start. It was just brilliant. The kids absolutely loved it. It gave them so much freedom to run around!! They didn't want to come home on Friday. The cottage was more than we expected it was home from home. I can't recommend this cottage enough!! When you have a large family it's hard to get somewhere that everyone enjoys. But that was not the case with this holiday everyone had a ball and the boys caught lots of fish and crabs!! Thank you so much for a memorable holiday!! �

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Hi Elinor
Many thanks for the kind review.
We do hope you return soon.
You would certainly be welcome.
Best regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces7...
1 review
“Lovely cottage, ideally situated .”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were delighted with the accommodation, large garden, right on the beach. Five minutes walk to the ferry, 10mins to Iona, which was a good visit. On our doorstep there was a nice pub, which welcomed dogs. They also did teas and coffee, sit in or takeaway meals. There was a place sold fresh crab, lobster, and fish and chips. There was a boat trip to Staffa to see Fingals cave, and the wild life. Great holiday. Thank you so much Mr & Mrs Kirkwood.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thanks for the review Ida
We do hope you consider returning - you would certainly be welcome.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhcroft
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was a very good location for our family. The dogs loved it. We did. We were a stones throw from the fishing hut for everything fishy. And a stones throw from the pub. Another goody. We treated our potential son in law and daughter to a meal at ninth wave around the back of the house. Huge reviews from them on their visit there. Owners friendly, ensuring we had all our needs and letting us know the secret beaches. And organised a new microwave. I would have given the place five stars if there had been a dishwasher. A must really when you have five people.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Hi Heather
Many thanks for the kind review.
We are in the Cottage after your stay and must say we are so pleased with the condition your have left the cottage in.
It is a shame we have received or only 4star rating from you but fully understand your reason to do so.
As we received your email we were looking at dishwashers on line as we totally agree with you about the need for one in the cottage, especially when we have a large party staying there, and will be installing one soon.
Lastly we do hope you return to Tigh-Na-Failte ( complete with new dishwasher ) as you would certainly be very welcome.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing