We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"It's bigger on the inside!" and the owners are...”
other travellers have booked this property
Rhilochan Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rhilochan Chalet
Rhilochan Chalet View from garden bench.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Rhilochan Chalet
Rhilochan Chalet
View from garden bench.
Double bed
Chest of drawers and 2 wardrobes in the room.
Bedside cabinets and bedside lights either side of the bed.
Living room with patio doors opening out to a lovely view.
Television and wifi.
New feature. Double size wall bed with luxury mattress.
Conservatory with double doors to small patio and gardern area.
Our conservatory also has a dining table
Our toilet area is fully tiled.
The wet shower area is also fully tiled.
The new ferry arriving at Stornoway
Just about to arrive onto the beach. All of the scenic photos have been taken at the local beach.
View from one of the caves.
Time for a stroll.
Time to explore.
Sunrise in February 2016.
Sunrise in February 2016.
Our laying ladies who will provide all of our guests with complimentary free range eggs.
Surfing at the local beach.
Surfing at the local beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Daniel A
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"It's bigger on the inside!" and the owners are delightful”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This chalet is a magnificently converted outbuilding, originally done for family use. Everything is of a much higher standard than I would expect for a rental property. The walk-in shower is particularly nice on a cold day.

It is situated in a sort of suburb of Stornoway. Only a short drive from town but much too far to walk. Only local attraction is the beech, but it is a lovely one.

The hosts were very unbelievably generous with little extras they brought along just because they thought we might like them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hosts.
Liked least: having to go home at the end.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you Daniel and Nicola. The weather was not kind to you, but you still managed to enjoy your holiday. We are looking forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manter51
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully furnished and so relaxing”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a fabulous time is this warm and cosy chalet, tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard, loved dining in the conservatory so spacious and airy. Lovely attention to detail and well located for the beach and a short trip to town.. We had everything we needed and lots of extras like eggs, shortbread, tablet, milk, tea, real coffee and cooking oil. Janice popped in to run us through how everything worked and to greet us and check at the end of our stay that we had enjoyed our visit. Hope to make it back sometime in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dining in the conservatory.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thanks Mandy. We enjoyed having you at Rhilochan and were so glad that the sun was shining for part of the time. Looking forward to having you back with us in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lr642016
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great stay and wonderful owner”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We did spend 5 nights at Rilochan Chalet with our dog (Golden Retriever). Everything was perfect : welcome (Janice has been taking care about us all the time), information provided, quality of the property (very well equipped and tidy), peaceful, not too far from Stornoway, well located to have nice walk with the dog on the beach, ...
A excellent location to discover Lewis and Harris isles and to enjoy the lovely country side.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you for being our neighbours for a short time. We enjoyed having you with us. Hope that you can come back to Lewis in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wn47
Fife, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wonderful location”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

we had a wonderful stay at this property, the chalet was warm and very nicely decorated, the owner lived next to the chalet and was very helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
It was lovely to have you staying at Rhilochan. Wishing you every success with your future plans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeganSuff...
Ronchi dei Legionari, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2018
Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely to meet you both and I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday.
Greetings from Scotland
Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing