We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and very well equipped house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Taigh Alex

Double room with comfortable memory foam mattress and en-suite toilet / handbasin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double room with comfortable memory foam mattress and en-suite toilet / handbasin
Comfortable living room with desk and smart tv Family sized kitchen with microwave, halogen hob, cooker, dishwasher and large fridge freezer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Double room with comfortable memory foam mattress and en-suite toilet / handbasin
Comfortable living room with desk and smart tv
Family sized kitchen with microwave, halogen hob, cooker, dishwasher and large fridge freezer
Twin room with memory foam mattresses and view over garden
Living room with comfortable futon couch
Comfortable beds
Mirror detail
Twin room with comfortable beds
Double room with comfortable memory foam mattress and en-suite toilet / handbasin
Twin room detail
Double room with comfortable memory foam mattress and en-suite toilet / handbasin
Twin room overlooks garden
Twin room detail
Built in wardrobe detail
Second twin room
Living room detail
Twin room
Twin room
Private garden with patio and garden table.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Electrani...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location and very well equipped house”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Alex was very good at communicating. The house is very close to the ferry terminal and it is very convenient for any local amenities (swimming pool, library, supermarkets). We traveled with a toddler, so a remote location was not suitable as you need more frequent access to grocery shopping, so the location was perfect for us.

In terms of visiting other places in the island, Port Ness is about 30 minutes drive, Uig beach is about 50 minutes, and other interesting areas are within a range of less than one hour. Plus, you have the castle and museum and local parks nearby.

The house has everything you may need (within reason), there are clear instructions for everything and also local information. We couldn't manage to turn the oven on, and Alex was there in less than 5 minutes to fix it.

Decoration is very good, as you have the basics and you don't need to put up with useless clutter as you have in other places. The garden is also very good, I think that the pictures don't show how versatile the garden is.

Now, the negatives: there is only one frying pan and it is quite damaged (the other is a wok, not a frying pan); there is one family bathroom downstairs and an ensuite upstairs (I think that it would have been a better conversion to use the stairs door to access the small toilet upstairs rather than setting up an ensuite, so people staying in other rooms don't need to go downstairs at night). The bath towels were a bit small. The curtains in the master bedroom are too translucent.

As you can see, the negatives are small details that are not really relevant. If we are visiting Lewis again, I'll try to book Alex's place again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2018
Hi guys,

It was lovely to meet you and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for your feedback. We've replaced the frying pan and fitted blackout blinds in the master bedroom, so thank you so much for those suggestions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elma G
1 review
“Comfortable house in Stornoway.”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Stornoway is a very pleasant town. The nearby Castle and grounds are very interesting and enjoyable to spend time in. The museum in the castle is excellent.
There are plenty of attractions in the west coast of Lewis such as Callanish Standing Stones, Black House Village and Iron Age House. The beaches are beautiful. The house was clean and comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMurray_O...
Oban, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service, and a great house in great location”
Reviewed 20 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This was a business booking for a survey team. Alex the owner was very helpful and friendly and responsive to our needs. The team really enjoyed their stay, as it is a clean, comfortable and modern house in a very good location. We will definitely book Taigh Alex again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshirel...
Irvine, ayrshire
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

House is in a good location 10 min walk to town and leisure centre.

Few down points I would agree with previous comment on curb appeal, front and back garden covered in weeds, broken fence etc. This can be easily fixed with TLC and time and would make a big difference to first impressions. The street though was nice and quiet, no issues there.

Secondly parking out front of property was not always available I noticed someone had commented on this. We didn't mind parking at the bottom of the hill but it could of been an issue for someone with mobility issues. Think changing to a driveway out the front garden would be perfect.

Bedrooms clean, decoration fine and beds comfortable. Yes the ensuite was noisy due to the mascerator but we have one at home which is quieter but we are used to a bit of noise, so no issue. Was ideal to have a toilet upstairs, hot tap on small basin not working.

Master bedroom could do with blinds or curtains that are lined to darken the room. The curtains were very thin and light came in to the room early. Very comfortable bed, nice linen and furniture plentiful.

Living room quite small for 6 of us and the futon very uncomfortable to sit on for long periods. Normally the living room is where we spend time after a day out and about so a bit disappointed.

Kitchen fine and well equipped, did notice chipped hob as previously mentioned in another review but it still worked fine.

Bathroom which is downstairs, and kitchen could do with an upgrade. Bathroom was musty smelling don't know if there has been a previous leak or if ventilation would help.

Overall we had a lovely stay, thank you for having us. This was our 10th stay in Stornoway, we will hopefully be back next year but not sure if we would necessarily return to this property. The biggest factor being the space to chill and relax as a family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Hi,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed and helpful review.

We have contracted somebody to keep the garden up to scratch. It was gone over thoroughly a couple of weeks ago, but we've had an incredible summer and everything is growing at an alarming rate. We've also been back to back with guests this year as it's been a really busy year for visitors to the island and we were trying to get the garden done in between stays, but it looks we'll have to get them to come in regardless of guests being in! Either way, we'll get onto it.

Re the parking - one of the neighbours parks 2 cars outside the house even though he's been asked time and again to only use one space. If he only parked one car there'd nearly always be space but, what as soon as we're not there he goes back to doing it again! So we'll be seeing about putting in to the council for a dropped curb over the winter period and turn the front area into a drive.

The upstairs ensuite is really just a W/C and has cold water only, due to the way the water is plumbed in the house (it's a small downstairs immersion tank).

Many thanks for your feedback about the curtains. This is more Anna's department so we'll look at what needs done to darken the rooms overnight in summer.

Another guest commented on the futon couch / sitting. It was an expensive new purchase for last season with it's memory foam mattress and I'm told it's great for sleeping on but it sounds like it's not ideal for simply sitting. So we've discussed it and at the end of this season we're going to take the futon couch away and put in a standard couch and put the maximum occupancy down to six.

I hadn't smelled a musty smell in the bathroom before - it's not been commented on before either - so I'll investigate further and see if there's an issue.

Many thanks for taking the time with your review, it's really helpful, and I'll keep you posted with any changes we make over the winter period so that if you do want to come back we'll hopefully still be an option for you.

All the best to you and your family,

Alex & Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley26...
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good wee house.”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This house is situated in a quiet little cul-du-sac, up a small hill about 10 mins walk from the town. There's parking up and down street but not always outside.

Overall we were happy with our stay in the house. Everything advertised was available, and worked. The beds are really super comfortable (like, REALLY!), and up stairs was nicely, and recently decorated. Linen and towels were spotless and the general cleaniness of the house was decent enough. Carpet were clean and appreciated. The wifi was great, no problems with speed even when we were all using it, and the neighbours were friendly and quiet.

A few things to note, not that they should detract you from booking:

The living room is set up for functionality, not comfort. We felt the house lacked a place to snuggle up in the evenings, and ended up in bed early most nights because we didn't enjoy the futon to sit on, or the set up of the room.

The ensuit toilet has a really loud flush, annoying at night!

The downs is functional but the decor is a little bit dated. That in itself isn't, and wasn't an issue for us. But we felt the photos were quite misleading because they're of the very best bits of the house. I would have preferred to have an honest depiction of what were renting, it wouldn't have changed our minds but it would given us a realistic expection of what we were opening the door too.

The hot water is an emertion tank so be prepared to wait for around 20 minutes, and the heating is a mixture of night storage and panel heaters. We didn't need them, but worth noting.

The owner is so incredibly helpful, a really efficient and friendly person. The house is great value especially because everything on the island is pretty expensive! It's not the prettiest house or street around but it is in a practical location and for bargain price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Hi Shelley,

Many thanks for leaving such a detailed and helpful review.

Re the parking - one of the neighbours parks 2 cars outside the house even though he's been asked time and again to only use one space. If he only parked one car there'd nearly always be space but, what as soon as we're not there he goes back to doing it again! So we'll be seeing about putting in to the council for a dropped curb over the winter period and turn the front area into a drive.

We really take on board your comments about the lounge. The futon couch was an expensive new purchase for last season with it's memory foam mattress but it sounds like it's not ideal for simply sitting. So we've discussed it and at the end of this season we're going to take the futon couch away and put in a standard couch and put the maximum occupancy down to six.

We'll also review the photos, we certainly hadn't intended to mislead, and again we take that on board.

It was great meeting you and thank you again for leaving such a detailed, helpful review.

Kind regards,

Alex & Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing