We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good wee house.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Taigh Alex

Double room with comfortable memory foam mattress and en-suite toilet / handbasin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double room with comfortable memory foam mattress and en-suite toilet / handbasin
Comfortable living room with desk and smart tv Family sized kitchen with microwave, halogen hob, cooker, dishwasher and large fridge freezer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Double room with comfortable memory foam mattress and en-suite toilet / handbasin
Comfortable living room with desk and smart tv
Family sized kitchen with microwave, halogen hob, cooker, dishwasher and large fridge freezer
Twin room with memory foam mattresses and view over garden
Living room with comfortable futon couch
Comfortable beds
Mirror detail
Twin room with comfortable beds
Double room with comfortable memory foam mattress and en-suite toilet / handbasin
Twin room detail
Double room with comfortable memory foam mattress and en-suite toilet / handbasin
Twin room overlooks garden
Twin room detail
Built in wardrobe detail
Second twin room
Living room detail
Twin room
Twin room
Private garden with patio and garden table.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
shelley26...
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good wee house.”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This house is situated in a quiet little cul-du-sac, up a small hill about 10 mins walk from the town. There's parking up and down street but not always outside.

Overall we were happy with our stay in the house. Everything advertised was available, and worked. The beds are really super comfortable (like, REALLY!), and up stairs was nicely, and recently decorated. Linen and towels were spotless and the general cleaniness of the house was decent enough. Carpet were clean and appreciated. The wifi was great, no problems with speed even when we were all using it, and the neighbours were friendly and quiet.

A few things to note, not that they should detract you from booking:

The living room is set up for functionality, not comfort. We felt the house lacked a place to snuggle up in the evenings, and ended up in bed early most nights because we didn't enjoy the futon to sit on, or the set up of the room.

The ensuit toilet has a really loud flush, annoying at night!

The downs is functional but the decor is a little bit dated. That in itself isn't, and wasn't an issue for us. But we felt the photos were quite misleading because they're of the very best bits of the house. I would have preferred to have an honest depiction of what were renting, it wouldn't have changed our minds but it would given us a realistic expection of what we were opening the door too.

The hot water is an emertion tank so be prepared to wait for around 20 minutes, and the heating is a mixture of night storage and panel heaters. We didn't need them, but worth noting.

The owner is so incredibly helpful, a really efficient and friendly person. The house is great value especially because everything on the island is pretty expensive! It's not the prettiest house or street around but it is in a practical location and for bargain price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Hi Shelley,

Many thanks for leaving such a detailed and helpful review.

Re the parking - one of the neighbours parks 2 cars outside the house even though he's been asked time and again to only use one space. If he only parked one car there'd nearly always be space but, what as soon as we're not there he goes back to doing it again! So we'll be seeing about putting in to the council for a dropped curb over the winter period and turn the front area into a drive.

We really take on board your comments about the lounge. The futon couch was an expensive new purchase for last season with it's memory foam mattress but it sounds like it's not ideal for simply sitting. So we've discussed it and at the end of this season we're going to take the futon couch away and put in a standard couch and put the maximum occupancy down to six.

We'll also review the photos, we certainly hadn't intended to mislead, and again we take that on board.

It was great meeting you and thank you again for leaving such a detailed, helpful review.

Kind regards,

Alex & Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airdrie2
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
“THE BEDS WERE CLEAN”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

painted to impress in photos,,parking a problem,dont know when the refurbishment was but it wasnt yesterday and cheaply done ,no photos of bathroom ? tile grouting dirty ,kitchen like a junk yard and hob cracked bits of burnt food in oven , previous occupants food in cuboards, kitchen door dosent shut fire hazard ?. dont leave the door or windows open as through the walls cats will be in, and the front might look better when neighbour cleans up all the rubbish no photo ? , been in stornoway on many occasions but wouldnt go back to this rental overall cleanliness poor noticed that the photos of this rental only show half the house, no doors, staircases ,no front of house, no bathroom, photos

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Hi Charles,

I have to say we feel crushed reading your review.

Firstly, I'm so sorry you didn't have a good stay. We feel terrible that you had the experience you had.

We have just started (middle of April 2017) using cleaners for the first time and we'll certainly been reviewing things with them and checking the property after they've been in. I've just been in touch with our current guests to ask how things were for them and they said everything was spotless, so it may be the case that certain teams aren't as good as others. Anyway, rest assured, we'll keep on top of this. Feedback like yours is more valuable to keep us on our toes than our other 5 star reviews!

We've always left food such as oil and salt/pepper a few spices in the end cupboard in the kitchen, but it sounds like there was a lot more than that left. I hope none of it was fridge or freezer as we always empty that totally and usually turn it off / leave it open after every guest. The oven should be spotless - I'm very disappointed it wasn't. Again, we'll take this up with the cleaners.

You were mentioning the refurbishment. The house had totally new carpets and most of the rooms were repainted in Summer 2015. At that time we also bought brand new memory foam matresses and a memory foam futon couch. We re-painted some rooms in autumn last year also. The kitchen is on next years plan to update as the carcasses are all custom sizes and the we felt the doors were good quality and so had planned on painting them and painting the room itself. We'll review this based on your feedback. In the bathroom the shower was replaced in 2015 and the riser rail head and hose were new as of last autumn. None of the grout should be dirty, again, we'll review this with the cleaners.

There's not as much we can do about the location / parking. The house is a terraced town house in Stornoway. Most of our guests appreciate the handiness of the location for town. However, it's not in an idyllic rural setting! The town centre / terraced house location is reflected in the price.

I am sorry you found parking a problem. There's a parking space outside the house for use by guests. It should have been left available. Let me know if somebody else was parking in it as we are considering applying for a dropped curb to create a dedicated parking bay in the front garden.

We'll certainly take on board all your points. Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Alex & Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafan7...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“clean and very well equiped house”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

the house was very clean and very well equipped. within easy reach of Stornoway and the harbour the garden would be a great escape in the summertime.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, sorry that I missed you - even though I must have passed you at the airport gate!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travaler9...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfy beds and very clean”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in April 2016

A group of us stayed and there was plenty space for everyone. The beds were very comfy and everything was really clean.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Always nice to see guests coming back - and thank you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and very comfortable beds!
Liked least: nothing really.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing