We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great wee place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of THE BARN

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
bedroom
kitchen
kitchen
showeroom
beach'
lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Misrepresentation of accommodation it was not a large place but a portacabin”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Too small for 3 people. Not disabled friendly shower had high step plus no grab rail. Kitchen was very small room only for one person at a time. Hallway could only accommodate one person at a time. Price did not reflect the accommodation. We were not told about toileteries meant for other guests! Furniture not suitable for me had to be assisted out of chair - too low. Would not recommend this property to anyone. Really disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
THIS IS A FOLLOW UP ON THE PREVIOUS REVIEW BY "SUZANNE"
THIS IS NOW THE MOTHER "HELEN" DOING ANOTHER REVIEW.

We have already responded with our comments in the previous review and have no further comments to add as all been said and documented.

FINAL NOTE TO FUTURE GUESTS:-

As already stated in the previous review-we have been fortunate and blessed to have hosted such wonderfull people from all over the world, without any problems or negativity. We have repeat Guests so that lets you know the TRUE and HONEST opinion of genuine people. We just reiterate to future viewers-just check previous reviews in order to get a true and factual opinion.
To Helen(Mother) Suzanne (Daughter)- i do hope you get over your "problems" but, if at a future date you wish to return for another visit- we would be more than delighted to welcome you!!
Good Luck
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzane D
1 review
“Average by Suzane”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We really wanted to like this place. However, LIllian acted as though it was an inconvenience to host us, we never met the husband and we only spoke to LIllian 3 or 4 times in the week we were there. She denied all knowledge of the dog although we filled in all the forms, there was some discussion about the cost of having him there. I have been over the site since and cannot see anything about a refundable deposit.I wanted to get a better measure of Lillians character so I took some tat, that is now in the post back to her, to gauge her reaction. She was beyond rude to my mum and upset her.
Regarding the accommodation itself
1 its a converted portacabin, with cladding. The name the barn is misleading.
2 it is so small inside that there is no privacy, it is so close to the main house that there is no privacy outside.
3 the kitchen is well stocked but can only really fit one person at a time.
4 the internet is patchy.
5 it is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues.-the shower has a step and no handles, the chairs are too low, there is a step Into the portacabin.
6 the parking is on the main road.
7 its a 20 minutes car journey and 45 minutes bus ride to town.
8 the welcome hamper was for 2 people, our party was for 3

Overall we feel ripped off and would recommend the hostel in Stornoway itself for better facilities and value for money.We wish LIllian and the husband all the best for the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thank you for your comments. So sorry you didnt enjoy your stay at "The Barn". Unfortunately, you departed in the morning before we had the chance to wish you a safe journey home! Fortunately, this has never happened before. As the saying goes - "You can please everybody some of the time but, you cannot please everybody ALL of the time. Perhaps when you recover from your "Health Issues" you would enjoy another return to the "Hostelry" in Stornoway

OH by the way, we still await the return of the "TAT" as you refer to, in your review-the items taken from our premises, without our consent.
We do wish Helen, Suzanne and her son HEALTH and happiness in the future.

FOR FUTURE REVIEWERS/GUESTS;-

Anybody who has stayed in "The Barn" and who knows john and I, will appreciate the above Review- is totally out of charachter, lenient with the truth, and unfounded.
We ask future guests to view ALL our prevous reviews where they will find honest and positive comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillwalke...
tayside
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wee place”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very cosy and comfortable place to stay in the lovely Isle of Lewis.
My husband and I enjoyed our few days break and Lilian was very friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed.
One thing to remember is that you have to be organized for meals unless you want to spend your time driving to and from Stornoway instead of relaxing and enjoying the view!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you so .much for your kind words about your stay in The Barn. It was a pleasure having you stay and if in the future you would like a return visit-you would be more than welcome.
Appreciate you spending the time to give us a review.
Kind regards
Lilian & john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
getmeou2f...
Alloa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“couldn`t be better”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

great location,excellent communications and Lillian and John,really put us at ease upon arrival,clean,homely accommodation with all mod cons catered for and the extra touches like the welcome hamper and toiletries an unexpected bonus.View from the living room french doors has to be seen to be believed,current photos on trip advisor don`t do the accommodation or vista justice.Ideal base for travelling around all parts of Lewis and Harris.Sad to have left but happy in the knowledge we`ll be "back" again.Easy to find just take the third road on the left after the back pharmacy and it`s on the right hand side about 1/4 along

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Awww...thank you so so much for your lovely comments! It makes all the hard work worthwhile when guests are co fy and at home in our "wee hoose" we do appreciate all your kind works and look forward to you welcoming you back "home" in the not too distant future.
Thank you again.
Kindest regards
Lilian & john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

An excellent wee base to visit the beautiful islands of Lewis and Harris. Very cosy and homely. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
Hi Ross
Thank you so much for your kind words. We always appreciate reviews (good or bad!).
It was a pleasure having you and we wish you well for the future.
Good luck with the exams!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing