We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of THE BARN

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Kitchen
bedroom
kitchen
kitchen
showeroom
beach'
lounge
Lounge
Bedroom
Hallway
Showeroom
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul J
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a fantastic place with breathtaking views.
Lilian and john made us feel very welcome. The Barn is furnished to a high specification and has everything you need for a relaxing stay.
we would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such nice comments! It was a pleasure having you both stay and we would certainly welcome you back any time. Regards L & J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
976alison...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Barn is a well equipped and comfortable 'wee hoose' about ten minutes drive from Stornoway, in an attractive setting, and perfect for visiting the rest of Lewis. LIllian and John are the perfect hosts, there when you need them but not intrusive, welcoming and eager to help in any way they can. The weather during our stay was variable to say the least but that's Scotland for you and it did not stop us from seeing most of the island's attractions.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
thank you so much for your kind comments. It was OUR pleasure having you as guests. Everything is worthwhile when our guests are comfortable and enjoy there stay. Thank you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian P
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home comforts”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lilian and John were perfect hosts; friendly, helpful and thoughtful.
The Barn had everything one could possibly need and it was a cosy retreat at the end of a busy day. We took our dog and there was a lovely walk for her just down the road.
There is lots of information about the area in the accommodation and it is situated a few minutes drive from lovely sandy beaches.
A great place to stay to explore the of Lewis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful words. We are always delighted when guests enjoy there stay and spend the time sending there comments. You were a pleasure to have including your doggy (she was so...well behaved!) thank you once again much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz H
Fairlie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“This is a real home from home”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We really enjoyed staying in the Barn. It is comfortable in every way and totally lived up to our expectations.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words! We do appreciate you going to the bother of sending your comments. It's reassuring when guests feel comfortable and at home. You were a pleasure to have as our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira P
2 reviews
“Cosy and welcoming cottage for one or two people”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This must be one of the best cottages I've ever stayed in. It is light and airy with a view over the fields to Gress Bay and beautifully warm and cosy. As it happened, during the ten days I spent there the weather was mostly glorious with only a couple of rainy days, but even then I was able to admire the view while enjoying the warmth of my temporary home.
Lilian and John are perfect hosts; not intrusive but there if I'd needed them and they'd thought of everything when they equipped the cottage. Lots of fluffy towels, soaps and lotions, welcome pack of goodies in the fridge and wifi.
I had a hire car and was easily able to visit the whole island of Lewis and Harris from the cottage. The roads are good, even the single track roads have plenty of passing places, and there are so many fabulous places to visit. Don't miss Calanais and the Blackhouse at Arnol and do go to Great Bernera where there's a lovely beach at Bosta with the remains of an Iron Age village half buried in the dunes. Also on Great Bernera, Sallie Tyszko's tapestry weaving studio at Tobson is well worth a visit. Tolsta beach and the bridge to nowhere are just a few miles down the road from the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you so so much for all your kind words on you stay in The Barn! We try our best to make everyone's stay as comfortable and cosy as we would like ourselves. In order for us to improve anything we appreciate any comments .Everything is all worthwhile when guests enjoy there stay and having you as a guest was an absolute pleasure. Perhaps one day our paths may cross again. We send our most gracious wishes and wish you well on your next adventure!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing