We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sundown cottage Achmore”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sundown Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sundown Cottage, Achmore, Isle of Lewis View from the Sundown Cottage .. 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Sundown Cottage, Achmore, Isle of Lewis
View from the Sundown Cottage .. 1
Dining/living area....
Kitchen View 1
Kitchen View 2
Callanish 2:  10 minutes drive from the Cottage
Callanish 1: 10 minutes drive from the cottage
Local Kayaking ... from one of the many beaches on the Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
susanjear...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sundown cottage Achmore”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

5 people comfortably housed in this holiday home.
Beautiful homely feel with all amenities for all weathers.
Great showers ensuing and very comfortable beds in all bedrooms.
Used the log burner (already laid for us)with homecut peat which was fast and wonderfully aromatic, easy to clean out.
Every comfort had been considered.
Cottage well placed for solitude,scenery, wildlife, heard a cuckoo calling at 3:30am!
Harris closeby and beautiful sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea!
We were lucky with sunny days and perfect weather for exploring the rugged mountains and moorlands within walking distance of our door!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely Log Cabin”
Reviewed 28 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This was our second stay at Sundown -
we liked it so much the first time (2015) that we didn't consider staying anywhere else. Callum and Christine are great hosts. The property has undergone some refurbishment and looks smart both on the outside and on the inside. The new corner sofa is comfortable and really practical when there are 5 or 6 staying in the proprty. We were blessed with some lovely sunny days so were able to make the most of the fantastic beaches. We saw a golden eagle on our way to Uig and a number of white tailed sea eagles but unfortunately no otters. We love this cottage and we hope to return again soon for a third visit. Thank you Callum & Christine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed in the other cottage, Taigh Callum. It was just perfect.
Lovely big bright rooms, cosy and beautiful view. Also in a great location as its only 45 mins from Harris and 10 from Stornoway so easy to get everywhere on the Island.

Calum and Christine were so welcoming, helpful and friendly and put lovely touches in the cottage to make it extra special.

Would definetly recommend and stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADELINE-I...
Istres, France
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Wonderful cottage in Achmore”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful time in Sundown cottage. It is so nicely decorated we felt like home. The owner welcomed us at night with the fire and candles lighted, fresh flowers in the rooms.... it was quiet and peaceful with a great sight from the living room.
Only 15 mn from Stornoway, surrounded by sheeps, a great place to visit both Harris and Lewis

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Many thanks Adeline and it was very nice to meet you and your family also. So glad you had a lovely time. Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pch201520...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great find!”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fantastic week spent in this cottage. I have never rented a cottage with so many thoughtful touches - eg wine, salmon, chocolates and fresh flowers on arrival. The owners are very welcoming and nothing is too much bother. The cottage is Scandinavian in feel, with lots of fantastic artwork and finishing touches. Furthermore it is very warm and comfortable. All in all a great retreat and a great base to explore the delights of Lewis and Harris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the place.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing