We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Taigh Geal

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Groundfloor bathroom
First floor shower room
Relaxing upstairs lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CaptainHF
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Booking Taigh Geal proved to be simple (via Trip Advisor). The vendors (Fiona and Finlay) were extremely helpful with pre-vacation advice and holiday planning.

We expected some dodgy weather and so went prepared with waterproofs, boots, brollies and Kindle, etc in anticipation of some wet, indoor days; all unnecessary, as we chanced upon the hebrides in the middle of a heatwave!

Fiona was charming and welcomed us with a bottle of fizz (this was a wedding anniversary treat) and a starter pack of basic foodstuffs. The holiday rental was a sheer delight; beautifully and stylishly decorated and furnished, smart but cosy and comfortable and with all mod-cons including fast internet, dishwasher, washing machine, smart TV with Sky, central heating and two bathrooms (no baths but large power showers). The location was perfect, being just outside Stornoway town centre but near enough to walk to the central attractions (at a push) and certainly close enough to a supermarket to make walking an option.

A panoramic window in the lounge (which is upstairs) looked out over fields, towards the coast which was easily visible.The dining room hosted an extensive library which included comprehensive information about local events and attractions, together with maps, guide books and texts on local history and geography (as well as enough classical fiction and potboilers to keep you happy for a month should the weather not be so good).The kitchen was fully equipped, as described, and stocked with pretty much every utensil you might need. The very pretty Denby crockery was a cut above the usual mismatched cups, plates and saucers! The bedroom was airy, furnished with new fittings and was light and airy; the bed was fitted with a fantastic mattress and topper and guaranteed deep sleeps (apart from the interruptions from the neighbouring sheep, who tended to make their bleating presence known if you left the Velux windows open - all added to the charm!).

This is the best holiday rental we have had the pleasure of staying in and I am only surprised that four stars rather than five have been awarded by the tourist board. We will be returning to the Hebrides some day and although the route and mode of travel will be something we'll decide nearer the time, we have no difficulty in pencilling in "Taigh Geal"as the chosen accommodation, every time. Only concern is that the word will get out and there will be no free dates when we try to book again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMG2608
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home and more”
Reviewed 19 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed one week whilst meeting some new people and travelling the length and breath of Lewis and Harris. Extremely cosy and comfortable for two. The library of books is reason enough to visit and the ambience makes this place a great spot for travel or for retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the light and design and cosiness
Liked least: not really anything to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKSP1
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at the apartment in July when the weather was particularily rainy and windy. So it was a treat after walks etc. to come back to a cosy, welcoming and very clean home. The kitchen was well equipped and enabled us to cook our dinner and breakfast. Very comfortable sofas and armchairs in a sitting room with a beautiful view over grazing sheep. Comfortable bed, showers and heating were working perfectly. Many thanks to the lovely owners who organised everything to our satisfaction (they weren't there during our stay but the lady who took over was so passionate and helpful). We really had the feeling of coming home. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan1965...
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Property. Has everything you would want/ need on holiday.”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This property is fantastic. We loved it. It had everything we needed for a fantastic weeks holiday. The king sized bed was so comfortable as was the living area which had a huge picture window with lovely views.There was an extensive library to keep us busy on wet days. I really do think you would struggle to find a nicer property in Lewis. Would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazingly comfortable bed.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K A
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Our second but definitely not our last stay at beautiful Taigh Geal”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Please also see our review from last year 'Everything we could have wished for'.

Taigh Geal is a luxuriously furnished property, stylishly and tastefully decorated, equipped to an incredibly high standard, towels plush, bedding akin a 5 star hotel, in the kitchen Denby and crystal.

The view through the oversized living room window is of fields and the bay, sitting in comfort and peace in the evenings, look at the big sky above you through the skylights.

Fiona and Finlay are the kindest, most accommodating people, perfect hosts, but never intrusive, they are there as much as you need them to be.

The apartment is close to all amenities, but within a stones throw of the incredible, beautiful, wild mountains and beaches of both Lewis and Harris.

In short, you really couldn't ask for more from this property, you will not be disappointed, for the time of your life, just go..... ❤

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing