We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Big slice of luxury”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abhainn Cottage

Garden & Decking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden & Decking area
Sauna & Spa Bathroom with hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Garden & Decking area
Sauna & Spa Bathroom with hot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Breasclete, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
alasdairm...
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big slice of luxury”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I booked a weekend at Abhainn Cottage with my partner, initially for her Birthday, but also to pop that all important question!
Upon arrival, we were met by David, the very friendly owner of the cottage, who had also been helping me plan my marriage proposal.
The house was warm, clean and extremely luxurious! We were provided with fresh home baking upon arrival, which was a brilliant perk! David also delivered flowers, champagne, and chocolates to congratulate us, while we were out celebrating our engagement!
Unfortunately the weather was poor, to say the least, during our stay, however, nothing beats coming back and getting the cottage warm with a roaring peat fire!

I simply cannot recommend this cottage enough as a cosy base to explore Lewis and Harris!

Big thanks to David and Kathleen for our unforgetable stay ay Abhainn Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth of the place, and the Sauna.
Liked least: Slight issue with TV in the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
337karlf
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Wow oh wow”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed on the island a couple of times before staying in different cottages which were fab. But this was amazing, started from the moment we arrived with a very kind welcome from David. The cakes were amazing and lasted a couple of days and the gifts of the chocs etc were so kind. Really comfy cottage with all that you could want. Underfloor heating in bathroom with large bath, walk in shower and sauna. Amazing! Kitchen had all in you needed and was so clean. This place is a great location to get round the island but also gave the peace, quiet and views that we wanted. Thank you and we will come back in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harveysde...
Stockport
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expectations exceeded.”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

With thanks to David & Kathleen.
First of all, the cottage exceeded our expectations; everything about the place was first class.
The Isles of Harris and Lewis are wonderful places to visit, with lots of interesting history, mountains to climb and beaches are top world standard.
We wonder why it has taken us so long to find these magical islands.
John & Elizabeth

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cottage on beautiful island”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very well equipped with fabulous bathroom. Cottage has excellent facilities which helped make for a fantastic holiday. Lewis / Harris is one of the most beautiful locations we have ever been to with breath taking scenery wherever you look. The beaches are without comparison and we will definitely return to the islands for another visit. Great location for visiting historical / archaeological sites and great location for cycling around area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great facilities at cottage and stunning scenery. Can certainly see why Lonely Planet rated the Outer Hebrides as the best in Europe.
Liked least: Cottage is a long way from any shops so need to plan shopping well. Also need to take into account that very little is open on a Sunday!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norrie m
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Brilliant" .What more can you say.?”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We went to ABHAINN COTTAGE for a relaxing/ get away from it all type, break away. And BOY did we get that. From moment of stepping inside cottage you felt as you were going to enjoy your stay, it was luxurious and homely.especially open peat fire. Lovely and warm inside while wind blowing outside, Kitchen/dining area had everything you could need and more , Bedrooms were just calling out to be slept in , And WOW the the bathrooms, never been so clean in my life jacuzzi/whirlpool, large rainfall shower etc... Been to a few "very nice hotels etc before but the cottage rates the best in our book for chill out with comfort. THANK YOU David and Kathleen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: walking in the door of cottage
Liked least: leaving the door of cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing