We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Expectations exceeded.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abhainn Cottage

Sauna and Spa Bathroom with hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sauna and Spa Bathroom with hot tub
Garden & Decking area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Sauna and Spa Bathroom with hot tub
Garden & Decking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Breasclete, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

harveysde...
Stockport
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expectations exceeded.”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

With thanks to David & Kathleen.
First of all, the cottage exceeded our expectations; everything about the place was first class.
The Isles of Harris and Lewis are wonderful places to visit, with lots of interesting history, mountains to climb and beaches are top world standard.
We wonder why it has taken us so long to find these magical islands.
John & Elizabeth

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cottage on beautiful island”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very well equipped with fabulous bathroom. Cottage has excellent facilities which helped make for a fantastic holiday. Lewis / Harris is one of the most beautiful locations we have ever been to with breath taking scenery wherever you look. The beaches are without comparison and we will definitely return to the islands for another visit. Great location for visiting historical / archaeological sites and great location for cycling around area.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great facilities at cottage and stunning scenery. Can certainly see why Lonely Planet rated the Outer Hebrides as the best in Europe.
Liked least: Cottage is a long way from any shops so need to plan shopping well. Also need to take into account that very little is open on a Sunday!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norrie m
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Brilliant" .What more can you say.?”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We went to ABHAINN COTTAGE for a relaxing/ get away from it all type, break away. And BOY did we get that. From moment of stepping inside cottage you felt as you were going to enjoy your stay, it was luxurious and homely.especially open peat fire. Lovely and warm inside while wind blowing outside, Kitchen/dining area had everything you could need and more , Bedrooms were just calling out to be slept in , And WOW the the bathrooms, never been so clean in my life jacuzzi/whirlpool, large rainfall shower etc... Been to a few "very nice hotels etc before but the cottage rates the best in our book for chill out with comfort. THANK YOU David and Kathleen.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: walking in the door of cottage
Liked least: leaving the door of cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukiiare
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Abhainn Cottage for a week in November and we loved it- it was a perfect base for exploring the island- coming back to a lovely and warm cosy cottage- great kitchen/lounge/open fire/ comfy bed and ensuite jacuzzi bath/sauna with underfloor heating in bathroom- wonderful. We took some great photos- amazing scenery, vast sandy remote beaches. Skoon cafe before going to Luskentyre beach on Harris is a must. Look out for seals en route!

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doctorfat...
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in an average regeon”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I have stayed with 2 of my friends in the Abhainn cottage in the first 3 days of June. I can say that the cottage was nice with all facilities. 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, one of them is very large and contains both sauna and jaccuzi. The cottage was nice but the area itself was boring and not nice. No much things to do, even walking outside is boring. Isle of Lewis in my openion is a place which is overrated and i wouldnt go back again

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.