We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abhainn Cottage

Sauna and Spa Bathroom with hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sauna and Spa Bathroom with hot tub
Garden & Decking area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Sauna and Spa Bathroom with hot tub
Garden & Decking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Breasclete, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

jukiiare
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Abhainn Cottage for a week in November and we loved it- it was a perfect base for exploring the island- coming back to a lovely and warm cosy cottage- great kitchen/lounge/open fire/ comfy bed and ensuite jacuzzi bath/sauna with underfloor heating in bathroom- wonderful. We took some great photos- amazing scenery, vast sandy remote beaches. Skoon cafe before going to Luskentyre beach on Harris is a must. Look out for seals en route!

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doctorfat...
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in an average regeon”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I have stayed with 2 of my friends in the Abhainn cottage in the first 3 days of June. I can say that the cottage was nice with all facilities. 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, one of them is very large and contains both sauna and jaccuzi. The cottage was nice but the area itself was boring and not nice. No much things to do, even walking outside is boring. Isle of Lewis in my openion is a place which is overrated and i wouldnt go back again

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMRPerth
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from Abhainn Cottage, it is everything the other reviews describe and more. We loved every minute of our stay. The cottage is immaculate, beds are comfortable, towels fluffy and plentiful. The view from bedrooms, sitting room and deck are ever changing and beautiful. Would happily stay there forever.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladynicki...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect Week x”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we enetered Scotland to the Monment we arrived back in England, I loved every minute! Even the ferry crossing to Tarbert, Harris was perfect - even though the Finlaggan was late! The cottage is a 50 minute drive from Tarbert and the owner's sister, was on our ferry so we were lucky enough to have her to follow to the cottage (even though I don't think we would have had a problem finding it) The Cottage was warm, welcoming and totally idyllic - we were given a tray of freshly baked cakes and biscuits (thankyou!) .
The jacuzzi bath was to die for, the beds hugely comfortable and full sky tv package a bonus - we have never had this on our previous trips to Scotland so felt spoilt! Brilliant wifi signal too. We had a never ending supply of clean fluffy towels and my Husband and I got dressing gowns too laid on our bed smartly wrapped in ribbons! The scenery from the upstairs bedroom window and the patio was gorgeous - we did use the pation even though it was the first week of April and we saw some stunning sunsets. The cottage is set in a perfect location for day trips out - we visited Harris, Uig (including the distillery) Butt of Lewis Lighthouse, Stornoway and I would just like to mention the Doune Broch (in Carloway) this is quite amazing and if you are travelling with young children - it is well worth an hour or so to see - our children loved it and the lady in the infomation shop bit is a total star, who thrilled our daughter with tales of the Broch!
We have visited a lot of Scotland, but Lewis and Harris are stunning and it was made more special by Abhainn Cottage, thank you so much David for letting us enjoy it and also thank you for time in responding to my emails and for all your help, please pass on my tahnks to your sister, who was a star. I can and will thoroughly recommend your beautiful cottage :) We shall be back!!

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 1) Breathtaking scenery 2) Jacuzzi Bath
Liked least: When I nearly ran out of wine!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I have to go back...”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The photographs on the website are great and sometimes this can set you up for disappointment but not with Abhainn cottage. The owners attention to detail is wonderful, everything from the pictures on the wall to the quality of bed linen let you know this is a special place to stay. It really is a luxurious home, and that’s how you feel when your there, at home. The owner had a warm welcome (and some homemade cakes) waiting for us, after a long journey it was just what we needed. The cottage is in a great location for exploring, it’s close to a lot of the visitor attractions, and the beaches on the Hebrides have to be seen to be believed. I love the Hebrides and cannot recommend this cottage highly enough as a base to explore and enjoy what the islands have to offer. I'll be back at the cottage later in the year what more recommendation would you need.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage
Liked least: I had to go home at the end of the week
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.