We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glenalva Cottage

Beautiful garden apartment in traditional Scottish village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful garden apartment in traditional Scottish village
Private entrance Peaceful country garden to relax and smell the roses
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Beautiful garden apartment in traditional Scottish village
Private entrance
Peaceful country garden to relax and smell the roses
Main entrance
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Large master bedroom with king size bed
Comfortable twin room
Cosy living space
Living room
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bridge of Allan, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
edmaantun...
2 reviews
“Our stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage is in the perfect location for people who want to be close to Stirling University; it's actually within walking distance.
The public transportation is great and affordable.
The bus stop is located right across the street and the train station is also within walking distance. It's easy to travel to the city of Stirling, Edinburgh, Glasgow and other lovely villages.
Bridge of Allan is a lovely Victorian town, with nice restaurants.
The cottage is equipped with everything you need for the stay.
The owner is very nice and quick to respond for any inquiries.
We loved our stay!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farfarers
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Super location in the heart of residencial Scotland”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This accommodation is located just off the main street of Bridge of Allan, a suburb of Stirling, Scotland. It is with a short walk to grocery stores, some super restaurants, a couple of nice pubs, and the bus and train lines that can get you to Glasgow or Stirling in about an hour. It is cheaper than staying in one of the big cities, convenient if you're driving into the Highlands, and the owner is flexible with regard to dates and times of arrival and leaving.

It is in a conversion of one of the fine old 19th century or early 20th century two-two story houses, but the apartment is on the ground floor with its own private garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The plumbing in the bathroom is very slow to drain. I left a note for the owner, so it should be repaired soon.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great base for exploring the area.”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited Bridge of Allan several times before and stayed in the nearby hotel. We were disappointed with the state of the hotel last time so thought a holiday cottage was a better idea. The cottage was great, clean, cosy and easy to find. It had everything we needed and more. It is ideally situated for cafes, restaurants and pubs as BofA has lots of choice. There is even a Tesco express and Dominos just seconds away from the front door. The cottage is tucked away behind a larger house so is quiet and private.
It is worth knowing that parking is on the main road nearby and it can be busy at times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manju500
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely cottage with a beautiful garden in a wonderful town! My husband and I stayed two weeks to work at stirling university and wished we had more time. Catherine was out of town but responded to a question very quickly via email. Location is central just an hour to either glasgow or Edinburgh. Front gate is a bit challenging :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great base, great property, great Scott.”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a little trouble paying the balance for this property but that was a Trip Advisor (TP)problem and not the property owner who did everything she could to help. TP didn't manage to help at all!
The property was very nice. It was clean and well maintained with comfy beds and a decent shower (both a must in my book).
it is also a great base to visit the area, we've visited the area many, many, times but never stayed in the Bridge of Allen; it was perfect for our Easter break and will certainly be back - however, I will deal direct with the owner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No one thing, it was all good.
Liked least: Trip Advisor poor service when I had a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Hi Dave,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and sorry you had such issues getting the balance paid with trip advisor! We got there in the end and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest wishes,
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing