We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“an ideal house and location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Haverstock

Haverstock with garden to front and large enclosed garden to rear
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Haverstock with garden to front and large enclosed garden to rear
Dining room with seating for 10 TV Lounge with wood burning stove and seating for 8
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Haverstock with garden to front and large enclosed garden to rear
Dining room with seating for 10
TV Lounge with wood burning stove and seating for 8
TV Lounge with wood burning stove and seating for 8
TV Lounge with wood burning stove and seating for 8
Downstairs cloakroom WC
Downstairs cloakroom WC
Downstairs cloakroom WC
Large, downstairs shower room
Central island with bar stools provides a fantastic central point for entertaining
Casual dining area in kitchen with Bi Fold doors to patio area
Bi fold doors from kitchen to patio area
looking from Family are towards kitchen
Family area with TV, Games console and football table
Family area with TV, Games console and football table . Bi Fold doors lead to rear garden area
Family area with TV, Games console and football table . Bi Fold doors lead to rear garden area
Family area with TV, Games console and football table . Bi Fold doors lead to rear garden area
Family area with TV, Games console and football table . Bi Fold doors lead to rear garden area
Family area with TV, Games console and football table . Bi Fold doors lead to rear garden area
Family area with TV, Games console and football table . Bi Fold doors lead to rear garden area
Master bedroom with super king size bed
Master bedroom with super king size bed
Views to front of property from Master bedroom
Feature fireplace in master bedroom
Feature fireplace in master bedroom
Master bedroom
Dressing room accessed from Master bedroom and upper hallway. Suitable for travel cot
Dressing room accessed from Master bedroom and upper hallway. Suitable for travel cot
bedroom 2 with Kingsize bed with views over the front of the property
twin bedroom 4 with views over rear of the property
Twin or super-king bedroom with views to rear of property
Twin or super-king bedroom with views to rear of property
Main bathroom with large bath and walk in drench shower
Main bathroom: vanity sink unit
Main bathroom's large walk in drench shower
Drawing room on first floor with views to Stirling Castle
Drawing room on first floor with views to Stirling Castle
Large Drawing room with comfortable seating
Sofa bed in Drawing room
Sofa bed in Drawing room
Sofa bed in Drawing room
Bridge of Allan, awarded Best Small Town in Scotland 2010,2011 and runner up 2012
Old Stirling Bridge
Stirling skyline
Stirling Castle
Stirling Castle
Robert the Bruce statue with Wallace Monument in background
Wallace Monument
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bridge of Allan, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alistair...
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“an ideal house and location”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

All the family loved the house and the location was ideal with easy access to Stirling, Edinburgh, Glasgow and the countryside all of which various members of the family enjoyed. The house was large enough for our party of ten adults and two toddlers. Very comfortable with ample cooking facilities, dining room and large garden in a quiet location. The family are keen for a repeat visit next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandsandb
dundee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing house!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I booked this house for my hen weekend. The house is absolutely stunning- all the rooms are decorated to a very high standard and the decor is tasteful. Everyone thought it looked even better than the photos. The kitchen in particular has the wow factor and we all felt extremely comfortable there- spending the majority of our time around the kitchen island!
My only quibble with the house is that it is advertised as sleeping 10 (there was 9 of us) but I think some improvements are required in order to comfortably sleep any more than 8. This house is absolutely massive but there are only 4 bedrooms, which comfortably sleep 8. Any extra guests have a sofa bed, which has been put in the very grand upstairs lounge. The sofa bed seems like an after thought- it doesn't match the decor and standard of the rest of the furniture and it seems really out of place in the massive lounge. What seems odd is that there are 4 reception rooms- matching the number of bedrooms! It seems excessive to have this many and I think this house would really benefit from either a new sofa bed being placed in the downstairs small lounge so this room would could be comfortably used as a bedroom or even better, just make this another bed room (because this is on the ground floor it would also make it accessible for people with physical disabilities).
Another problem was that no towels or bedding had been provided for the 9th guest. So not only were they sleeping in the main lounge, the didn't have any towels or bedding. We managed fine with what we had but it was annoying. I would have expected a house like this to have a cupboard with some extra towels and linens/blankets/pillows but we couldn't find anything. I could have text the company but we didn't realise this until quite late in the evening on so I didn't bother.
We also spent ages trying to figure out how to use the built in speakers in the kitchen/lounge area but could not get this to work and there were not any instructions for this that we could find.
Other than the bed issue, the house was outstanding and we all had a fantastic stay. Bridge of Allan in a lovely town and the house is in a great location for doing loads of activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful kitchen
Liked least: the facilities for the 9th/10th guests
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Haverstock after your recent stay.
Regarding the issue re linen and towels for the sofa bed; I can only apologise for this oversight on our behalf. Usually if a guest requires a guest bed this is a ‘tick box ‘option done so by the guest on booking. As this box wasn’t ticked it was not obvious to us on first glance however this is not an excuse for us not providing the bedding etc. It should have been apparent that this was needed from the number of people indicated in your booking. We could have easily provided this if you had contacted us and I hope that this not have a detrimental effect on your weekend.

There are 2 sofa beds in the property and the one we always offer guests the use of is the new one in the family area as opposed to the one you used in the Drawing Room. This sofa bed has been in place in the property for a while however it is totally functional despite its rather dated cover compared to the rest of the furnishings.
I appreciate your comments re the possibility of creating another bedroom as opposed to having 4 public rooms however we want to ensure that all guests have maximum use of the 2 bathrooms and 1 WC and feel that creating another bedroom, therefore making this property able to sleep 10 rather than 8 + 2 , would not give guests the best use of the bathrooms.
The built in speakers in the kitchen/lounge area have been temporarily disabled as they were proving to be slightly problematic for guests to use; the provision of the docking station in this area should have hopefully eradicated this. I have taken on board your comments however and will ensure that this is made clear in the information folder in the house.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Haverstock despite the oversight of the 9th guest and hope to see you again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schultzee...
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stunning property in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed here with my mum, parents-in-law and our four month old son. The accommodation was top notch, very comfortable and had every modern amenity that you could ever need. Conveniently located for the high street shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay again! Very reasonable rates and owners are very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire house. Felt like you were in a stately home!
Liked least: The electric hob is very high tech it took some time to figure it out
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zara-Jayn...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haverstock is simply amazing,could not fault a single thing :)”
Reviewed 14 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my family stayed in this impressive house & we are so glad we chose Haverstock. They really have thought of everything(the heated kitchen floors & amazing walk through dressing room were just a bonus!) and the service was brilliant as Kirsteen was always at the end of the phone if needed. My extended family & i will definatly be returning as they visit every few months and the general thought is why would we consider anywhere else when the standard has been set so high with Haverstock.
In conclusion this is a complete bargain and the obvious choice for anyone holidaying in the Stirling area.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laughingb...
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful house that would enhance any holiday”
Reviewed 17 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This elegant house is beautifully decorated, well equipped and maintained to a high standard. The kitchen has everything you could need including an aga and an American style fridge.There is a choice of areas to enjoy a meal in the kitchen or formal dining room. Bathrooms are modern and spotless. The drawing room has comfortable sofas and both Stirling Castle and the Wallace monument can be seen from this first floor room. Quiet location yet within easy walking distance of interesting shops and eating places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen. The real heart of the home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing