We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room
Kitchen Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Sitting room
Kitchen
Sitting room
Sitting room
View from the bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Conservatory
Bedroom
Bathroom
Ferniehaugh from the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggar, South Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
785MAnneD
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy retreat”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful little cottage. A lot of thought has gone into providing everything that might make you feel at home. The bed is exceptionally comfortable, the shower is very good, the kitchen is well equipped, and the log burning stove makes the cottage warm and cosy. A very peaceful place to be in the middle of great walking country. Very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
I'm so pleased that the cottage lived up to expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at what was a very cold time of year! I shall hope to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lee H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect getaway in a nice town”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed here recently for a week, and it was perfect. lovely cottage, log fire was great. 30 minutes from Edinburgh, had everything we needed. would recommend this place to anyone or everyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Thank you so much - we're delighted you had such a good holiday and enjoyed the wee house so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Scotland is a lovely place to stay. The people are friendly and where we stayed in Beggar the cottage was really nice and the owner was very helpful on our arrival, showing us around and all the things you tend to forget on holiday were at hand e.g. washing up liquid, toilet rolls to name but a few. Plenty of places to go to and to add to our nice holiday the weather was good. So thanks for the advert that let us know about the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and that you had a great holiday. Hopefully, I shall see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage, perfect for a relaxing, romantic getaway”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ferniehaugh is a stunning little cottage, beautifully decorated and furnished with every modern comfort you could want. We enjoyed a relaxing week here and didn't want to leave! The log burning stove was perfect for snuggly evenings in with movies and popcorn. The little touches like the luxury bedding and fresh flowers made things extra special. Hilary the owner was so helpful and welcoming and took time to show us around and offer advice about what to see and do in the local area. We enjoyed exploring the shops in Biggar High Street which is just a stones throw away and also found ourselves only an hour away from both Edinburgh and Glasgow which made Ferniehaugh the perfect base for exploring. I would highly recommend staying here, we will certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, couldn't possibly name just one thing!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed it. Ferniehaugh is a bit of a home from home I think - a friendly, comfy place to relax in. And as this was your first trip to Scotland I'm especially pleased that it was such a success. It was great that you got to know your way about locally in Biggar (the curry! the olives! the books!) as well as enjoying outings to Edinburgh and Glasgow. Thank you also for your present of the visitors book and your lovely comments in it. Don't forget there's still plenty more to see and do - eg the beach at Gullane, the wonderful gardens at Dawyck, Kailzie and Traquair House - and we hope very much to see you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing