We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect spot for a wedding ceremony!

I work for a hotel in Maryville, Luxbury Inn & Suites and a bride had selected our venue for the... read more

Reviewed 9 July 2018
Carol G
,
Kingston, Tennessee
Unique beautiful venue

We were married at the capitol in October and were very impressed with its beauty, the knowledge of... read more

Reviewed 28 November 2017
S M
,
Asheville, NC
via mobile
Read all 23 reviews
  
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
20
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful venue dj cave reception ceremony capital video
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

I work for a hotel in Maryville, Luxbury Inn & Suites and a bride had selected our venue for the wedding guests and the Capital Theater for a Great Gatsby theme wedding. The theater was perfect. I stopped by to see the decor and check out how things were going. The bride and groom even rented a period car to take them from the church to the venue! Awesome venue! I also suggest the venue for all of my bus groups looking for a dinner theater option.

Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

We were married at the capitol in October and were very impressed with its beauty, the knowledge of the management, and the music / video system. The downstairs man cave is absolutely amazing.

The ceremony and reception occur in the same space with DJ included. Food is provided by nearby Sullivan's restaurant and one can provide their own alcohol. Lastly, the price is very reasonable.

We very highly recommend the capitol.

Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCapitol127, Director of Sales at Capitol Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Amazing venue with the cutest coffee & ice cream shop! Great place to drop in for a dessert and amazing place to host a wedding, corporate event, or celebration of any kind.

Thank hschweitzer0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We've been to several events here, it is a great place! Beautifully restored and friendly staff! The coffee shop has goodies and delicious treats, and local artwork is on display in the lobby.

1  Thank Jenny2crop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Once you walk up to the Capitol Theater and enter the doors you are transported back to a time of ice cream sodas, sock hops, and classic Hollywood. They offer a variety of yummy ice cream selections, drinks, and candies. The staff has always been friendly and welcoming. There is even a photo booth to relive those good old days before cell phones and selfies...

1  Thank AllThroughHimILive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Ice cold perfectly made Dirty Chia. The coffee/concession adjoins the theater and what a beautiful place it is.
Step back in time to 1950's. The theater now is available for private events. It was built in 1921 and refurbished in 2002. Every attention to detail was given. Wish this was in my home town.

Thank Armina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

As a wedding photographer, I'm always looking for great venues to work with. This place is wonderful! All my brides that have been here have loved it! The area where the bride & bridesmaids get ready has enough room for everyone to relax, touch-up hair & make-up, etc. And the are where the guys get ready is awesome! Pool table, very cool decorations (think the rat pack..). Plus, it's a great area for photos after the wedding. And the wedding ceremonies are held on the stage and works out very nicely with great lighting. I was worried at first because of the dark atmosphere, but it actually adds a fantastic effect to all the photos. Plus, Heath is great to work with too! Very accommodating. And probably my favorite part of a wedding day at the Capitol is the reception. Hands down. There's a spacious dance floor with amazing strobe lights plus a screen that plays the music video to whatever song you're listening to (Whip & Nae Nae anyone?). It adds a whole new level of having fun at a reception! I highly recommed this venue for weddings, parties, etc.

Thank WillMaryville582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

Best wedding venue!!! Debbie and Heath make a great team! They were great with helping us plan and coordinate our wedding. They had helpful suggestions and ideas to help make our wedding unforgettable. We loved that the Capitol theater was a package deal. Debbie took care of the decorating, catering, and cleaning up. Heath was our deejay and did an amazing job with song selection for the reception. There were people of all ages at our wedding and they were all on the dance floor having a good time. He also did a light show for our ceremony that made the songs that we picked seem even more special. Our experience at the Capitol theater is something that we will never forget!

Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

My high school prom (2013) was located at the Capitol and it was amazing. Our theme was A Gatsby Affair and it was perfect. It made my senior prom amazing!!!

Thank Samantha_Boring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We stopped by the Capitol Theatre to get a cup of coffee from the shop attached to the Capitol. What a beautifully renovated theatre!! It would be a fabulous venue to have a wedding reception. Very, very well done!

2  Thank 2travelOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews