We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We felt privileged to be there”
other traveller has booked this property
Belmont House exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Belmont House exterior
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Belmont House exterior
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Staircase
Exterior in Northern Lights
Dining Room
Family Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Unst, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Solstrand...
Lerwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We felt privileged to be there”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Six of us stayed at Belmont House for a weekend. The house has been restored with the greatest of skill, thought, artistry and care. Throughout the house the colours reflect the era and are calm and relaxing. The modern amenities i.e. kitchen, bathrooms and all services, are wonderfully crafted into this period dwelling and are first class. The artwork in the accommodation is stunning and adds to the whole sensory experience of living in a wonderful spacious Georgian home. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable, as are all the rooms. Needless to say we left totally enthralled with the whole Belmont House experience. Our stay wasn't long enough but a great introduction! Belmont House has gained new fans who will definitely return. We will be singing its praise to anyone who will listen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty of the house, atmosphere, amenities, location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela I
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful memorable 50th birthday Celebrations at Belmont House Unst.”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our party of 6 couples arrived in Unst from Whalsay at 12, 3 of us celebrating 50th birthdays. Belmont House exceeded all expectations - tasteful arty décor, charm, cosy rooms and all possible amenities. Left for Victorias Tearoom for lunch at Haroldswick which was lovely. Visited boatshed where one of my boat building ancestors boats was on show, visited the Viking longhouse and ship, took a walk up to see Muckle Flugga lighthouse and the solan colony - stunning. A first class 3 course meal prepared in the Belmont kitchen by Scj Catering chef & co with lovely table presentation of fresh Lilly - lovely aroma and atmosphere. Splendid time was had by all - lots of fun and banter in a beautiful house and setting. A brilliant unforgettable weekend to mark a special occasion with our friends. We're all thinking of an excuse to return in the near future hmmm.........maybe our 51st!!
Ps I loved my night in the box bed in the attic room so comfy and cozy - think id like one!

Thank you to Belmont Trust

Angela & John Lowrie xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidHoss
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Belmont House Unst great base.”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location to explore Unst(Teasure Island). Family of seven spent seven happy days.
Plenty of space for all the family members young & old.
The Drawing Room was probably the most utilised. Shetland ponies in the field at the back of the house.Comfy beds and three good bathrooms.
Peaceful surroundings and although we prepared for the Windswept Isles the weather was very kind. Excellent Information about the Unst walks.
Great base to visit Yell & Fetlar. Great beaches.
Muckle Flugga is a must.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy F
Catania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best place in the world for the 'White Nights'”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a spectacular place to stay for a special occasion. The management arranged for a chef to cook a meal at the house for my 60th birthday. At the end of June there an be nowhere better to stay but bring waterproofs and a jersey.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally r
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Belmont House - perfect venue for special family celebration”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I recently hired Belmont House for accommodation to celebrate my mum's 70th birthday. I wanted a special place to give a sense of occasion and Belmont House certainly didn't disappoint, in fact it was perfect. Karen was extremely helpful in organising our stay and we took advantage of the private chef service for a family dinner. I can thoroughly recommend it. The chef and waitress looked after us and created a lovely, intimate dining experience.

Belmont House is a perfect mix of grandeur and homeliness. It is so welcoming and really is the perfect setting for a special family celebration. It also feels very child-friendly and we appreciated the games & puzzles which kept our kids entertained whilst we enjoyed an aperitif in the drawing room.

There is so much to recommend, from the beautiful palette of paintwork, soft furnishings and artwork, to the fantastic level of comfort of the beds.

My only complaint is that our stay was too short and I will be back at the earliest opportunity for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private dining experience and the bedding which was divine! And our children loved the box beds.
Liked least: There is nothing that I did not like, except that our stay was too short.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing