We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"bloody brigadoon!"”
Review of The Torridon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Torridon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2011

every visit to the torridon, the standard gets better and better. the spooky thing is the owners and the staff also get younger and better looking every time we visit!
it's like bloody brigadoon!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BalfourFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 520 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

This must have been our tenth Hogmanay stay at The Torridon and and we have never been disappointed. Dan and his great team, following a tiring Christmas season, greeted us with big smiles and a gorgeous tea served in the library. Our room was warm and cosy despite being very spacious. The beds are so comfortable, it is difficult to get up!
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the cleaning is obviously carried out by fairies as I have never actually seen a cleaner! The food is wonderful and worthy of much higher awards than they possess. Fabulous, fresh local food, ingeniously put together and intelligent portion size! Dreamy breakfasts, fantastic choice and again, fresh local produce.

My husband is gradually fulfilling his aim to taste as many whiskies as possible from the dazzling selection in the bar! the celebrations were as always, superb with the attention to detail unmissable. Robert's decorations, the piper, the dancing, the fireworks and everyone had a fantastic New Year 's Eve. Well done the Torridon team you are truly exceptional and of course, we will be back again and again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review and as always it is you and other guests that make Hogmanay so enjoyable. We love having you all to stay as it does not feel like a hotel but more of a house party with good friends.

Remember keep smiling,

Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Everything about the Torridon is fantastic. The service is great with lovely staff, the rooms are gorgeous and the best thing about it is the food. Really the restaurant should have Michelin stars.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PABj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We spent three blissful nights at the Torridon for our honeymoon. Daniel and his fantastic team made us feel incredibly welcomed. Nothing was too much trouble and the atmosphere was always friendly and comfortable.

Upon arrival, we were upgraded from our deluxe room to a master room. The room itself was superb, featuring a four poster bed that was comfortable beyond belief. We were staying on half board, which included a choice of cooked breakfast and a five course evening meal. The excellent chef and sous-chef (Jason and Max) always checked on dietary requirements and amended their menus to suit individual requirements. The food itself was virtually faultless - amongst the best I have ever eaten. In particular, the pork three ways with black pudding cannelloni was food to make you smile.

The waiting staff were always knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. This was true of Vanessa for the morning service and Kasia for the evening service. Robert as the hotel manager was always accommodating, as was Daniel as managing director. You can see that we really did enjoy the personal touch during our stay!

So what to say of the hotel's location and grounds? It sits on the banks of Loch Torridon, enjoying spectacular views out to the mountain opposite. There are extensive grounds and a kitchen garden, which we walked around once the snows cleared. We also enjoyed a day trip across to the Applecross peninsula - this is a scenic drive of around one hour along the coast road. The hotel itself dates back to the Earl of Lovelace, and has many period features from the reign of Queen Victoria. It is beautifully furnished and features log fires in many of the public rooms.

We also took lunch on one of the days in the neighbouring Torridon Inn. This is owned by the same team that operate the hotel, and is a comfortable and welcoming inn with a roaring fire and generous portions of fish and chips!

Overall, this is perhaps the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toptoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Two days of luxury and relaxation, helped by a team who really know their stuff and a kitchen produsing memorable food. The game terrine with foie gras and truffled bean salad was the best starter I have ever had. Thanks to everyone at the Torridon - you hit a perfect balance between friendliness and all-out professionalism Wine and whisky recommendations hit the spot - I'm a Cardhu convert. We've been to a few good country house hotels in Scotland, and other than Arisaig House (which is now run as a guest house, I think) this is the best by far. Would like to be back already...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandJaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2010

Thank you for your kind review of The Torridon. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that in particular you enjoyed the food and that our personal touches shone through in the service you received.

We hope to see you back at the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
20.1 km away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
16 km away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
23.5 km away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.7 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
27.2 km away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
219 reviews
26.9 km away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon

Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Price Range: $280 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torridon is a luxury hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon
The Torridon Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing