We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
557
87
48
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
87
48
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room hunting lodge dining room roll top bath the hotel offers a hot water bottle whiskey bar highland cattle clay pigeon shooting superior room fine dining luxury hotel outdoor activities superb hotel public rooms spectacular setting michelin star
Filter
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 723 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This must have been our tenth Hogmanay stay at The Torridon and and we have never been disappointed. Dan and his great team, following a tiring Christmas season, greeted us with big smiles and a gorgeous tea served in the library. Our room was warm and cosy despite being very spacious. The beds are so comfortable, it is difficult to get up!
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the cleaning is obviously carried out by fairies as I have never actually seen a cleaner! The food is wonderful and worthy of much higher awards than they possess. Fabulous, fresh local food, ingeniously put together and intelligent portion size! Dreamy breakfasts, fantastic choice and again, fresh local produce.

My husband is gradually fulfilling his aim to taste as many whiskies as possible from the dazzling selection in the bar! the celebrations were as always, superb with the attention to detail unmissable. Robert's decorations, the piper, the dancing, the fireworks and everyone had a fantastic New Year 's Eve. Well done the Torridon team you are truly exceptional and of course, we will be back again and again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review and as always it is you and other guests that make Hogmanay so enjoyable. We love having you all to stay as it does not feel like a hotel but more of a house party with good friends.

Remember keep smiling,

Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Everything about the Torridon is fantastic. The service is great with lovely staff, the rooms are gorgeous and the best thing about it is the food. Really the restaurant should have Michelin stars.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PABj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We spent three blissful nights at the Torridon for our honeymoon. Daniel and his fantastic team made us feel incredibly welcomed. Nothing was too much trouble and the atmosphere was always friendly and comfortable.

Upon arrival, we were upgraded from our deluxe room to a master room. The room itself was superb, featuring a four poster bed that was comfortable beyond belief. We were staying on half board, which included a choice of cooked breakfast and a five course evening meal. The excellent chef and sous-chef (Jason and Max) always checked on dietary requirements and amended their menus to suit individual requirements. The food itself was virtually faultless - amongst the best I have ever eaten. In particular, the pork three ways with black pudding cannelloni was food to make you smile.

The waiting staff were always knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. This was true of Vanessa for the morning service and Kasia for the evening service. Robert as the hotel manager was always accommodating, as was Daniel as managing director. You can see that we really did enjoy the personal touch during our stay!

So what to say of the hotel's location and grounds? It sits on the banks of Loch Torridon, enjoying spectacular views out to the mountain opposite. There are extensive grounds and a kitchen garden, which we walked around once the snows cleared. We also enjoyed a day trip across to the Applecross peninsula - this is a scenic drive of around one hour along the coast road. The hotel itself dates back to the Earl of Lovelace, and has many period features from the reign of Queen Victoria. It is beautifully furnished and features log fires in many of the public rooms.

We also took lunch on one of the days in the neighbouring Torridon Inn. This is owned by the same team that operate the hotel, and is a comfortable and welcoming inn with a roaring fire and generous portions of fish and chips!

Overall, this is perhaps the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toptoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Two days of luxury and relaxation, helped by a team who really know their stuff and a kitchen produsing memorable food. The game terrine with foie gras and truffled bean salad was the best starter I have ever had. Thanks to everyone at the Torridon - you hit a perfect balance between friendliness and all-out professionalism Wine and whisky recommendations hit the spot - I'm a Cardhu convert. We've been to a few good country house hotels in Scotland, and other than Arisaig House (which is now run as a guest house, I think) this is the best by far. Would like to be back already...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandJaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2010

Thank you for your kind review of The Torridon. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that in particular you enjoyed the food and that our personal touches shone through in the service you received.

We hope to see you back at the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We spent one night in late October at the Torridon and wished we had booked for more. The setting is superb, the staff is very attentive to any needs and the dining was excellent. The gardens are beautiful, even in the fall, with a garrulous gardener happy to tell you all about his babies. The views are spectacular, with the Loch and mountains visible from most rooms. We dined at the restaurant on sea bass. The cheese course was one of the best we had in Scotland, crowned by the Snowdonia original cheese. The lounge is expansive and conducive to relaxing in front of a warm peat fire with a world-class single malt, of which the bar has many.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dla911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2010

Thank you very much for writing such a great review of The Torridon, We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel as well as Les's interesting garden stories and are particularly pleased about your comments on the cheese selection and are glad you enjoyed your meal.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Torridon in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews