We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Overrated”
Review of The Torridon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Torridon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2009

This was the most expensive property I stayed at one a three week trip. At six times the cost of the least expensive property I stayed this one was disappointing in several regards. At a price range of 200-300 GBP - without dinner - you would expect exceptional service and all the trimmings. Not so.

On check in I was shown to my room. The non-Scottish staff member pointed out that the room had Molton-Brown toiletries and they were free! This is the first time in all my travels to be told the toiletries were free - how generous.

I asked about the wireless internet. Oh yes, but it does not reach many rooms and you can always come to the bar. Not at this price range in my opinion,

The hotel brochure described breakfast as having fresh orange juice. Not so. In fact, breakfast was a very low end production. The cold buffet had a couple of cereals and a tired looking bowl of mixed fruit. The cooked breakfast menu had the standard Scottish options.

There are many better places to stay in Scotland at much better value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 552 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2009

This was our second stay within a couple of months, the first in March for a pre wedding trip, the second in June for the wedding. On both occasions everything was perfect, the the room and food were both absolutely fantastic, and the staff could not have been more helpful. The scenery, well what can you say!

In all it was a wonderfully relaxing time. It was the perfect choice for our wedding and we need to find an excuse to go back! If you want to take someone on a romantic break, this is the place!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed at the Torridon after reading rave reviews about the hotel in a number of publications. Firstly, this is not an inexpensive place to stay, even though we received an off-season discount. Our 'classic' room was so small that we couldn't open our suitcases - we couldn't even put them in the wardrobe because that was taken up with a tea tray. Service was good, but not outstanding. You can't actually walk down to the water that the hotel is on because it is all fenced off or private land. Restaurant was good although there were a number of very inexperienced staff, some of whom managed to spill our wine/orange juice etc, although they were all very pleasant. What we were most disappointed about however was that the main reason we went was to do some of the activities as we are both outdoorsy. We were greeted with lots of brochures and info about all the activities on offer, but when we went to book were told that the activity staff were away so no in house activities were on offer! What about fishing? The fishermans boat was broken. What about riding? This is over an hour away. With nothing else to do we decided to stay at the hotel only to be charged nearly 10 pounds for a coffee in the lounge. Room service was 10GBP extra a tray and the TV signal didn't work properly in the room, nor the high speed internet. This hotel is in a lovely location and beautifully appointed, but we came away feeling it was overpriced and that they had lost sight of the most important person - the customer. Best advice - pay the extra and go to somewhere like the Isle of Eriska, or go somewhere a little more low-key like Tomdoun for a more authentic experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2009

As they say your good run cannot go on forever. We accept all criticism and constructive feedback as it does allow us to improve the service and the hotel. We have had really good comments so we must get it right most of the time. I am sorry that you did not feel you received value for money. Our customers are the most important thing to us as without them we will not succeed and therefore I would disagree that we have lost sight.
We ask all our customers to complete a preference form before arrival and you have the opportunity to book activities in advance, which we would always recommend. If it is not available we would tell you. Like spa treatments if all the times are gone then there is no availability and this is the same with our activities. We should have offered you other activities to do on the area as per our website and we do not pretend to do fishing or horse riding ourselves.
We have 4 styles of room and you booked our Classic room on a discount. All our rooms are again visible on the website and we do not hide the size or their facilities. You are right that you pay for what you get and a room at the excellent Isle of Eriska would be comparable to a Delxue or Master room at Torridon.
I am sorry that you did not get the service you wanted and I will speak to the team and remind them that we have to exceed all our guest’s expectations. Regards, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

This country house type hotel made for a wonderful stay during a trip to the West Highlands in Scotland. The main house of the hotel has the look of a castle in some ways...with the mountains and loch it takes your breath away as you drive up to the entry. We stayed in a cottage adjacent to the main house that provided great privacy and comfort...had a nice separate 'sitting room' with fire place.
Service was attentive without being overwhelming.
We had dinner in the hotel and while a little pricey it was fresh, well prepared and flavorful -- would recommend eating there. Breakfast was amazing and since we were there over Easter they had special treats at each table setting in recognition of the holiday.
Lots to do and see in this area -- if you are the outdoors type...if you aren't, this is a quiet, relaxing area to give mind a rest and wake up your senses. The remote landscapes/mountains are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2009

Thank you for your very kind review and we are really appreciative of the feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Torridon. Regards, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

The fantastic reviews are what led me to book a one night stay at the Torridon. The location is stunning and the service was excellent. My real disappointment was that when I booked, as none of the 'refurbished' superior rooms were available I was recommended to book a refurbished classic room. This was small but lovely, though the bathroom felt slightly as though corners had been cut (old door lock in place, original shower screen).
Our main disappointment was at dinner. The original, very attractive, dining room is small and so there is a more modern extension - housing about half of the tables. We were put in the far corner of this room, which was not full, at a large round table big enough for 4 or 6. I presume our 'naughty children's table' - as my husband described it - was because we had booked the cheapest accommodation. I was therefore irritated when a couple of tables of diners who seemed to be staying elsewhere, had 'better' tabels. Many of those paying more for accommodation would also have had better views from their rooms.
I expect anyone who sat at this table with the restaurant not full would feel disappointed considering the cost overall. The food was good, but paled next to what we had eaten at the Three Chimneys on Skye days before. I would return but only to a more expensive room and hopefully a better table at dinner!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkthenWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2009

Thank you for your review and we appreciate the feedback. We see that you stayed in room 19, a recently refurbished Classic bedroom for 1 night. Thank you for comments on the door knob and shower screen and we will review these. I see from your scores that you rated us 5 out of 5 for cleanliness and service, 4 for the room and 3 for value for money. We are naturally disappointed to receive a low score for value but appreciate this appears mostly due to the table you were allocated at dinner.
The dining room is indeed split into two and nearly everyone wants a table by the window. This is not possible when we are full. On the particular evening you dined with us we were able to put everyone on a window table. Table 12 is indeed in the corner and is a table that we can use for 4 people. Only this week we have had four regulars in for 7 nights who requested this table. When there only 2 at the table we change the position to create more space but we will review this now and see if we can improve things. It is always the case that what is right for the goose will not always be right for the gander. I would add that if you had requested to move table to one of the 4 empty tables behind you we would willingly have done so. Please understand that table allocation is based not on what you spend but more the number of people eating and tables are allocated randomly. If you would like to return and stay with us please let us know what table you would like and we will try our best to

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
20.1 km away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
16 km away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
23.5 km away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.7 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
27.2 km away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
218 reviews
26.9 km away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon

Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torridon
Price Range: $274 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torridon is a luxury hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon
The Torridon Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing