We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
559
87
48
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
87
48
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room hunting lodge dining room roll top bath the hotel offers a hot water bottle whiskey bar highland cattle clay pigeon shooting superior room fine dining luxury hotel outdoor activities superb hotel public rooms spectacular setting michelin star
Filter
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel is set in a wonderful location with beautiful scenery. The staff are very friendly and the food is exquisite. There are lots of little personal touches and i would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are keen to "get away from it all".

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penelope_Pitstop24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you very much for your review of The Torridon,

we are delighted that you enjoyed getting away from it all here, It really is a lovely place to relax.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Torridon.

Kind Regards,

Daniel and Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

It always useful to get constructive criticism but I am sorry to say that I found nothing to criticise.
This was my second trip to Torridon and returned with my brother and my wife's sister who also loved Torridon. As you can see from practically every review it is considered 5 star in every respect. The food in the restaurant is exceptional every evening. We stayed in the new 1871 suite which was beautifully decorated.
I did see one review where they inferred it was too formal which I found bizarre as we found it very relaxing. They also found the food too fancy which was exactly what we loved. They should consider the adjoining Torridon Inn when they return which is simpler but still very good. If this too is too upmarket then they could stay at nearby campsite in Shieldaig.
Thanks to everyone at Torridon for a wonderful 3 days.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_Malcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review of The Torridon,

we are delighted that you did not find anything to offer constructive criticism on during your visit to The Torridon. We take pride in both the ambiance and cuisine of the hotel and we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed both. We are both looking forward to welcoming you back to The Torridon.

Kind regards,

Dan and Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

On Arrival at the Torridon, we were already blown away by the scenery and were met at the door of the hotel by friendly and helpful staff to take us through check in. After being shown to our room, a lovely welcome tea/coffee in the Drawing room was most appreciated as we decided which route to take for a walk.

The location and wealth of activities available speak for themselves and the pub at the Torridon Inn, just a stone's throw from the hotel serves a great collection of beers and whiskies with a relaxed and informal ambience.

Dinner was nothing short of delicious and once again, the staff and service were superb. Retiring to the whisky bar for a choice of over 350 whiskies is also something that should be taken advantage of!

All in all, a fantastic hotel for location, service, food and facilities. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The two suites - Coire Roille & 1887 are fantastic - Idyllic views from the Coire Roille!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jockchickang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review of The Torridon.

We are glad that you enjoyed all of the aspects of The Torridon experience and especially pleased that you found our staff so helpful.

We are also delighted that you enjoyed our suites.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Torridon in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan and Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

What a wonderful location which the Torridon Hotel matches in every conceivable way. The staff act as though our visit has made their day and reciprocate accordingly. Having visited hotels in every continent it is the Torridon hotel team that makes it so very special. Only criticism is the need to walk and run to cope with the culinary delights that Torridon has to offer. Noted that one Italian made adverse comments that were so meaningless and absurd that wonder if he works for Costa cruises! To ask if we will return is a rhetorical question. As soon as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review of The Torridon, I am delighted that you found everything to be so enjoyable, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Torridon upon your return.

Kind Regards,

Daniel and Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here for one night with our two children. I was slightly nervous abuot taking the children to The Torridon as I was unsure how welcome they would be. However the staff made such a fuss of them they cant wait to go back. I didnt at any time feel they were in the way. The staff at this hotel are wonderful, clearly happy in their job and keen to make your stay as perfect as possible. The food was lovely and the wine list is really good. Comfortable beds aid a good night sleep after an afternoon walking in the hills. We stayed ina suite so that we could take the children and it was beautiful. Lots of attention to detail including things to keep the children amused and a huge list of DVD's for bedtime watching! Breakfast was absolutely my favourite part of the stay, beautifully cooked and a huge choice.
I would most definately return and I would take the children again!
Thank you to all the staff at The Torridon - the children can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the downstairs suite which was great for the children
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review, We are delighted that you and your children enjoyed your stay at The Torridon. We are especially pleased that our staff were able to make your children's stay such a memorable one, as well as your own of course.

We are very much looking forward to seeing you again at The Torridon.

Kind Regards,

Dan and Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews