We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just could not find any faults whatsoever!”
Review of Mackay's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mackay's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Visited for a long weekend break and received a warm welcome from friendly and efficient staff. The room was very large with tea/coffee facilities, en suite and more than adequate furniture. Spotlessly clean, well lit and very comfortable. The menus were varied and the food was excellent. Very generous and tasty portions. Well done to the chefs!! There was entertainment each night and the standard was high. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and made you feel at home. The hotel had a swimming pool and other leisure facilities which we did not use and so cannot comment upon. Strathpeffer is very convenient for lots of nearby attractions. We were self drive and so found it very convenient apart from being a lovely part of the world. You could pay a great deal more elsewhere and I doubt if you would get better!! Fantastic!

Room Tip: The travel lodge was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank georger140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear georger140,

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am delighted to hear you had a fantastic stay and that you couldn't find fault. We have been working very hard to upgrade the hotel and the guest services and it makes me very happy to know that our efforts have been noticed.

I do hope we see you again in the future.


Kind Regards


Debbie Scott
General Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017

We booked this hotel through Easy-Break as we had friends from Grimsby staying in Strathpeffer on a coach tour for five days at the Bay Highland hotel. My husband and I stayed for two nights on dinner, bed and breakfast at a cost of £69.00 per person for the two nights. We were absolutely delighted with everything at the hotel, from checking in and our room was in the Travel Lodge building and the room was a great size and had a double and single bed with plenty of drawers and hanging space and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was fine with a shower and lovely large white towels and the room was very clean. For the price we paid we were not expecting a lot, but I can honestly say the food at breakfast and dinner was excellent and everything was hot. We particularly liked at breakfast the cooked meal was served to your table, while you helped yourself to cereal, fruit, etc. The evening meal was also lovely with a good selection and the staff were very efficient, even although there was a coach tour in at the same time. We found the staff very pleasant the helpful in all areas of the hotel and would recommend it very highly. There is a small swimming pool and gym and I used the pool and my husband used the gym, so this was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Did not see rooms in main building, but would certainly recommend the rooms in the Travel Lodge buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Jeanette M,

Thank you very much for the lovely review.

I am so pleased to hear you were delighted with everything and that you managed to make use of our leisure facilities.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future


Kind Regards


Debbie Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Arrived on Friday 21at is April for a 3 night dinner bed and breakfast , on arrival we checked in no bother at all by girl on the desk ( am not good with names lol ) we were given a room in the lodge at the back only thing my husband has breathing problems , which we should have stayed when we booked , to cut a long story short ,I explained to the girl and we were immediately given a room in the main building on the second floor which waS fine as they have a lift , meals delish, staff lovely ,only gripe could do with shelf in toilet and the Wi-Fi was non existent .Well worth the price we played

Room Tip: Best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nightstar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear nightstar33,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I am really pleased we were able to change rooms for you make you stay a little more comfortable. The WIFI is available complimentary throughout the building however due to the size of the building certain areas of the building have stronger signals than others, however a strong signal is always available at reception.

Thank you again and hopefully we see you again in the future.

Kind Regards


Debbie Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Just back from a 2 night stay over Easter with friends,the improvements in this hotel are visible for all to see and a massive well done to Debbie and her team! The service for breakfast both mornings was perfect. Also, the difference in the bar area is like night and day, makes the place seem cosier and more welcoming! We can't wait to visit again soon and see more progress! Well done again

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mcameron1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Mcameron1967,

I am really pleased to hear that you continually enjoy your stay with us here at MacKay's and that our improvements have been noticed. I look forward to seeing you again in the future look out for the improvements yet to come.

Kind Regards


Debbie Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This was my first visit to MacKays Hotel - well worth a visit.

The Room (which was in the Annexe) was very comfortable; although at the front of the Hotel it was very quiet. The food was very good; the Staff were excellent - very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: My Room was very quiet although at the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear Neil F,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable first stay with us. The staff will be delighted to hear your comments as they work very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one and its great to hear it does not go unnoticed.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Debbie Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 km away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
810 reviews
0.1 km away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
618 reviews
0.1 km away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
154 reviews
6.6 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
799 reviews
22.3 km away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay's Hotel

Address: The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: AU$97 - AU$170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackay's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Mackay's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Strathpeffer
Mackay's Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing