We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Highland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mackay's Hotel(Strathpeffer)
USD 104*
USD 72*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ben Wyvis Hotel(Strathpeffer)
USD 107*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 249*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 216*
USD 146*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dower House(Muir of Ord)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
328
348
90
44
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
348
90
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsronnie rossshearings holidayour waiterlong journeyself driveevening entertainmentpremier roompump roomscottish dancerslovely hotelold railwayshearings hotelsfirst classnational holidaysoverlooking the villagecoach drivergreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
701 - 706 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Spent a weekend with a group of friends at the Highland Hotel and had a great time. Hotel is very impressive as you approach as it is a large Victorian style hotel and the interior, with wooden panelling, is striking.
Staff are very friendly and helpful and the meals, although nor large portions, were very tasty and varied.
Rooms were very clean although the beds, as reported elsewhere, are a bit lumpy . However rooms are of good size.
Entertainment was very good on both nights of our stay especially on the Friday night when Ronnie played, sang and told a few stories while interacting with those present..
There is not much to do in Strathpeffer but a trip round the Black Isle was very scenic and visit to Hugh Miller's cottage very interesting.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Billdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thanks for your lovely comments, It good to know you and your friends had a great time.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

had a five day holiday with shearings to this hotel. very long journey from birmingham, but well worth it. the hotel is lovely, very clean, friendly staff, excellent food and service. would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Many Thanks for your kind comments. It's lovely to hear you found everything to your satisfaction.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel was very clean, & although in need of refurbishment it has a lot of character. It is a very big hotel catering for a lot of coach tours.The staff were pleasant & efficient. The evening meals were poor, but the breakfasts were OK, so let down by the quality of food in the evening. The village of Strathpeffer is lovely & has a few little shops & a well preserved, but not in use, old railway station. The whole area is beautiful & peaceful, & there are some good walks locally.

Room Tip: We heard no noise at all on the top floor from the very busy hotel
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

I’ve also just returned from holiday and I have to agree that the scenery around here is amazing. Although I’ve lived here for nearly 20 years the views never fail to impress me. I’m really glad you had fantastic week. I will pass on your comments to Simon, he will be delighted to know he was mentioned on trip advisor. It’s great to know you enjoyed the food and the included excursions.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just got back after a 5 day all inclusive to Straphpeffer to the Highland Hotel had a fantastic week the place is just stunning everything is so well orginised the staff where excellent and made sure that the holiday was the best you had with Shearings. The entertainment was very good and different every night the food was excellent and served hot at all times our waiter was called simon he was brillant and we were served quickly and never had to wait long all the staff worked very hard to make your trip special.
The whole week was fantastic the trips were interesting and the sceney was breath taking our driver Andy was very informative about the places we visisted the only drawback was the time it took to get there some were complaining but we had plenty of comfort stops and the time soon went due to Andy's informative discription of places we passed through. The village of Staphpeffer is beautiful so peaceful and the views from our window overlooking most of the village was stunning would highly recommend this holiday to others will be going again

Room Tip: There is no special room all of them face onto a quiet part of Straphpeffer the only thing you can hear is the early morning chirping of birds bliss
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diamonds30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

went on coach trip arrived ,late staff very good in getting you settled ,..nothing was a problem,food and service was top drawer.hotel spotless ,although never seen amember of room staff all weekend.

Room Tip: lower floors have larger windows
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajwalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews