We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Help with food alergies”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Help with food alergies”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband and I have recently enjoyed a holiday with Shearings staying at The Highland Hotel.
My husband is a coeliac and I cannot praise the staff in the restaurant enough, for their kindness and for making sure my husband only had Gluten free food.
We were a little apprehensive before our holiday but we need not have worried.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, especially if you have a food allergy.
N J Stokes Paulton, Bristol.

Room Tip: If all the rooms were like ours, then any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naida1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We deal with special diets on a weekly bais and have special menus for various different diets. It's lovely to know your husband enjoyed our selection of gluten free food.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    307
    84
    41
    22
See reviews for
84
402
46
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Spent a weekend with a group of friends at the Highland Hotel and had a great time. Hotel is very impressive as you approach as it is a large Victorian style hotel and the interior, with wooden panelling, is striking.
Staff are very friendly and helpful and the meals, although nor large portions, were very tasty and varied.
Rooms were very clean although the beds, as reported elsewhere, are a bit lumpy . However rooms are of good size.
Entertainment was very good on both nights of our stay especially on the Friday night when Ronnie played, sang and told a few stories while interacting with those present..
There is not much to do in Strathpeffer but a trip round the Black Isle was very scenic and visit to Hugh Miller's cottage very interesting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments, It good to know you and your friends had a great time.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

had a five day holiday with shearings to this hotel. very long journey from birmingham, but well worth it. the hotel is lovely, very clean, friendly staff, excellent food and service. would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Many Thanks for your kind comments. It's lovely to hear you found everything to your satisfaction.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel was very clean, & although in need of refurbishment it has a lot of character. It is a very big hotel catering for a lot of coach tours.The staff were pleasant & efficient. The evening meals were poor, but the breakfasts were OK, so let down by the quality of food in the evening. The village of Strathpeffer is lovely & has a few little shops & a well preserved, but not in use, old railway station. The whole area is beautiful & peaceful, & there are some good walks locally.

Room Tip: We heard no noise at all on the top floor from the very busy hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland hotel ... s, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
I’ve also just returned from holiday and I have to agree that the scenery around here is amazing. Although I’ve lived here for nearly 20 years the views never fail to impress me. I’m really glad you had fantastic week. I will pass on your comments to Simon, he will be delighted to know he was mentioned on trip advisor. It’s great to know you enjoyed the food and the included excursions.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Alastair Grantham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just got back after a 5 day all inclusive to Straphpeffer to the Highland Hotel had a fantastic week the place is just stunning everything is so well orginised the staff where excellent and made sure that the holiday was the best you had with Shearings. The entertainment was very good and different every night the food was excellent and served hot at all times our waiter was called simon he was brillant and we were served quickly and never had to wait long all the staff worked very hard to make your trip special.
The whole week was fantastic the trips were interesting and the sceney was breath taking our driver Andy was very informative about the places we visisted the only drawback was the time it took to get there some were complaining but we had plenty of comfort stops and the time soon went due to Andy's informative discription of places we passed through. The village of Staphpeffer is beautiful so peaceful and the views from our window overlooking most of the village was stunning would highly recommend this holiday to others will be going again

Room Tip: There is no special room all of them face onto a quiet part of Straphpeffer the only thing you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamonds30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 km away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 km away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.6 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
9.5 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.8 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Property: Bay Highland Hotel
Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price range (per night): $100 - $226
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing