We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic base for a fishing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Braemore Square Country House
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My friend and I spent two nights at Ed and Wendy's lovely home as a base for some river, loch and sea fishing. It is a very comfortable, friendly home and you are made to feel really welcome. Ed spent ages with us showing us the river and telling us about other fishing in the area. He even lent us a wading stick, nets and an OS map! We had the most fantastic time fly fishing in the River Broom which is in the grounds of the house. It was just superb. Great hill loch fishing for trout and sea angling near by too. Ed is a real expert and knows all there is to know about the local fishing.

The house, bedrooms and lounges, etc are all lovely - really comfortable and homely. The breakfast was just superb - amongst the best breakfasts I have ever had in a hotel or B&B - including 5 star hotels in SE Asia! Incredible selection of fresh fruit and berries, home made bread and jams, and either the full fry or options like porridge or scambled egg and smoked salmon - all the freshed of ingredients and superbly cooked and presented.

All in all a wonderful experience - I came home raving about the place to my wife and promised to take her up there for a 'non fishing' break soon!

Many, many thanks to Ed and Wendy for a superb break. They were SUCH good hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for one night and it was great, the location and structure as the owners are charming. The rooms are quiet and spacious in addition to being well-furnished (there is also a thermal blanket). It is located not far from Ullapool and is surrounded by nature, you feel a river and a short distance you can visit an archaeological site. It is a luxury accommodation and so will your breakfast. Great for starts to visit the highlands or to the south the isle of Skye.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfigno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in August either side of a trip to the Outer Hebrides. The house is a magnificent building set in beautiful grounds about 15-20 minutes from Ullapool (very handy for the Ferry) We received a very warm welcome and were treated as if we were family. The rooms are exceptionally well appointed and very clean. Breakfast was wonderful and we will definately stay here again again.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank mtansey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

What a pleasant surprise. A beautiful building in stunning surrounds. Both the host were very welcoming and informative and obviously enjoy what they do. The room was immaculate as were the communal areas. The breakfast was wholesome, filling and presented with enthusiasm. For such a short stay as ours you could not wish for anything more and I am sure a longer stay would be equally satisfying. The overall quality of this hotel was in excess of its official rating and a credit to the owners.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoandTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Wonderful house, very warm welcome, beautiful scenery, fantastic room, and really, best breakfast ever. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulinpaulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Loch Broom
39.3 km away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
191 reviews
15.9 km away
Harbour House
Harbour House
#3 of 7 in Ullapool
162 reviews
16.2 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
204 reviews
33.5 km away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 km away
Braemore Walled Garden B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemore Square Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemore Square Country House

Address: Braemore Square House Loch Broom, Little Loch Broom IV23 2RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Little Loch Broom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Little Loch Broom
Price Range: AU$232 - AU$471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century stage post in the Highlands of Scotland offering high quality bed and breakfast with a choice of three bed and breakfast rooms. We can offer a king bedroom with en-suite that can be changed to a twin room, a double room with en-suite or a single room with adjacent bathroom. We have a choice of 4 beautiful self-catering apartments. One self catering unit is wheel chair accessible. Salmon and trout fishing, land adjoining Corrieshalloch Gorge, and a great base for exploring the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Braemore Square Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing