We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Get Away Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auchterawe Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auchterawe Country House
Ranked #23 of 29 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Get Away Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

This is a fantastic house in the most outstanding setting. It's location is a couple of miles out of the village, which is great close enough if you want to pop down to the pub, but far enough away to get lots of peace and quite, which was what we were looking for. The rooms were on the large side, the level of decoration and cleanliness was to a very high standard. Tons of pressure and hot water in the shower. Food of a good standard and plenty of it. The family were all very friendly and helpfull. We had a great stay and highly recommend a visit. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    15
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

This is a house in the country and in my opinion NOT a country house. Not run by Scottish people. The prices are way too high; for what was paying did NOT expect chipped crockery; Pressure in shower / water in tap can drops to a trickle, something that can be resolved; Table cover not changed all week despite paper table covers. When moved a place mat my fingers got covered with sticky gunk under place mat, that was just gross, especially when was just about to eat! Bathrroom sink not cleaned for days. Cleaned it myself in the end. Plastic tea stirrers (not even plastic spoons) Friendly enough family but that's just NOT enough particularly when paying top prices. Food was adequate. Not the best portions or variety. Underneath the pillow case covers, some pillows were REALLY dirty, covered in brown stains. Made me feel physically sick when I saw what I'd slept on! I could go on. Wished stayed at Lovat Arms, Fort August prices not that different and food excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

At first glance this place had everything going for it. Good location, off the beaten track, pleasant hosts and a good base for touring the highlands. Then you see the pool table in the guest lounge. Later you realise the bed is like a concrete slab and that there is precious little pressure in the shower when you want it. It's about now that you remember that the room rate is somewhat higher that the average for the area, but somehow the facilities you have on offer don't seem to match the price. On returning from a long walk on the second day you realise that the bed hasn't been made (just straightened) the room hasn't been vaccumed, the tea/coffee supplies in room haven't been repenished and the wet towels from the inadequate shower have not been replaced. Less than satisfactory considering (once again) the room rate. Interestingly, for a Scottish Country House, there is no porridge or Arbroath Smokie option at breakfast and, although there is an evening meal option at Auchterawe, the proprietor seemed to ahve no embarressment at all in telling us that the mjority of the menu was frozen produce, even though the prices were on a par with local restaurants. All in all the Auchterawe could be so much more than it is and, as such, it becomes little more than a big dissapointment. Auchterawe, if you're going to charge top rate and market yourself as a Scottish Country House, then you need to step up to the mark.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nehemiah007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Beautiful location, made very welcome, shame about the quality of the room, towels, chipped crockery, not to mention the cheap breakfast and a fried egg that looked good but appeared to have been microwaved as the yolk was solid. To top it all we had a heard of elephants, at least thats what it sounded like, in the bedroom above us, don't know what they were doing all night, moving furniture? who knows! but we didn't sleep for the noise and creaking floor boards. Would class this accommodation in the £50- £60 range, not the £85 we paid. Didn't want to leave with a bad taste in our mouths and never easy to complain to the owners when they are running it, so left having paid sadly never to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizaBalmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjh77, Owner at Auchterawe Country House, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that your nights sleep was disturbed by guests in the bedroom above but unfortunately we cannot chose our guests or their activities once they are in their rooms.

We have our own Free Range eggs at Auchterawe Country House which we serve to our guests for breakfast so we would not dishonour the eggs by microwaving them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

The Hodson family made us feel very welcome-all extremely helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Our son loved being shown all the animals.
Food was excellent and service was very good.
Our room was comfortable with a spectacular view.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bas20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
9.1 km away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.1 km away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.5 km away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kettle House B&B
Kettle House B&B
#1 of 29 in Fort Augustus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 km away
Corrie Liath B & B
Corrie Liath B & B
#11 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.3 km away
Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast
Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 29 in Fort Augustus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchterawe Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchterawe Country House

Property: Auchterawe Country House
Address: Auchterawe | Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price range (per night): $97 - $177
Hotel Class:4 star — Auchterawe Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Bed & Breakfast in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and only 2m from Loch Ness and the village of Fort Augustus. Set in the woods of Auchterawe Forest, if peace and quiet is what you are looking for, then look no further. With many hill and riverside walks just outside your door. We provide a warm family welcome with en-suite rooms with mountain views and modern facilities including free Wi-Fi, satellite TV, DVD/CD players and ipod dockers. Relax in our guest lounge with log burning stove and play a game of pool on our antique style pool table. Evening meals are served in our elegant dining room where you can choose from homemade and homegrown produce with main Games dishes on the Menu. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auchterawe Country House Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing