We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming location”
other travellers have booked this property
Autumn at The Old Convent.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn at The Old Convent.
Luxury king size bed with canopy. Very spacious bedroom with views of the convent woods.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Autumn at The Old Convent.
Luxury king size bed with canopy.
Very spacious bedroom with views of the convent woods.
Spacious living room with 32' TV/DVD player.
Living room.
Christmas 2017.
Christmas tree.
Bathroom.
View of Ben Tee from kitchen window.
Kitchen with new carpet.
Hall way.
Convent woods to the rear of the house, perfect for a stroll.
Fields and convent woods, perfect for a stroll.
Parking at the rear of the building beside the garden.
Winner of Certificate of Excellence.
Looking up Loch Ness from the Boathouse Restaurant, an easy 10 minute walk.
Ben Nevis & Aonach Mor. 30 minutes drive. Ski-ing and mountain bike heaven.
Looking up the locks that run through the middle of the village of Fort Augustus.
Lovely spring bluebells on route to the local waterfall. 'Ladyfalls'
Christmas 2016.
Felicity with certificates of excellence for all the apartments.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lizzie647...
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming location”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We chose fort Augustus for the location in relation to what we wanted to do and see. We chose the convent primarily on price. However very pleased to say it was well worth not only the price but the opportunity to see what the owners are doing with this absolutely charming property.
Fantastic location for walking the dog safely in the countryside without even having to cross a road.
All very comfortable. All very clean. Spacious. Mod cons in case you need them. Wifi is a must these days and good to have it.
All in all a very satisfactory break. Thanks for the shortbread ☺️

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm and spaciousness
Liked least: Got bit cool in between heating hours but nothing a jumper couldn't fix
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the shortbread! Felicity & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you so much, we loved having you to stay and enjoyed our chats very much. Felicity & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greg R
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in great location in beautiful town”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Felicity and Chris have restored/renovated the Old Convent with great passion and expertise. We stayed in No.3, and it is absolutely superb - very spacious, extremely well equipped, most comfortable, and an easy short walk into town for drinks and dinner. And Felicity's own excellent artwork adds a great touch. Felicity gave us great tips on the town and where we should go to see the local and not-too-distant sights not to be missed (the weather was very good too so we "did" the Isle of Skye as a comfortable day trip!). Very highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your kind and lovely comments. Felicity & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bitesized...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have stayed in many self-catering cottages / apartments and this is easily amongst the best. The accommodation is spacious, the decor tasteful and the setting beautiful. We were also pleased at how well equipped the place was (with a huge kitchen with all possible cooking equipment, ample crockery, dishwasher, washer/dryer, books / DVDs) and how well everything worked (great heating, great hot water, great water pressure). The owners were also very friendly and provided helpful information on local sights.

In terms of location, the Convent is about 0.5 miles from central Fort Augustus, which has a selection of pubs / restaurants and a small but well stocked supermarket adjacent to the petrol station. It's an easy walk in. The town is a great base for touring the highland region and if you drive 1.5 - 2 hours in any direction you'll pass through / reach beautiful scenery.

We want to return and would highly recommend this as a place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and would love to welcome you again. Felicity & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Might...
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect accommodation”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We can't recommend No.3 The Old Convent highly enough. The apartment is finished to a very high quality, was spotlessly clean and very warm and comfortable. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. There was nothing we would have changed, and we're very picky!

It's also a lovely part of Scotland and especially good for walking. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2015
Thank you very much. We really enjoyed meeting you and your lovely wee dog. Felicity & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing