We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and wonderful”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Talisker

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
The Highland Club on the western shore of Loch Ness set in 20 acres The Cloisters lead to the Spa facilities (due in late 2010)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Lounge
The Highland Club on the western shore of Loch Ness set in 20 acres
The Cloisters lead to the Spa facilities (due in late 2010)
The Highland Club
Sumptuous bedrooms with top quality linen -  'Talisker' 3 bed
Master bedroom
Boathouse Restaurant in Abbey grounds
Luxury en-suite bathrooms
Tennis Court
Woodland Adventure play area
The Chapel Swimming Pool
Giant chess in cloister gardens
External view of Talisker apartment with large gothic window
Gym
Atrium leading to Chapel Pool
Archery on The Old School Lawn
Luxury bathroom
Beautiful interiors
The local village of Fort Augustus
Christmas in The Highland Club Lounge
The Monastery
Winter morning where the Caledonian Canal meets Loch Ness
Loch Ness from The Highland Club Grounds
A magical place - steeped in Scottish History
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marysea10...
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and wonderful”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed two nights here. What a lovely and peaceful retreat. Although we didn't get to use much of the facilities, it offered quite a lot to enjoy. We especially enjoyed this small village. Everyone was friendly and the food was fantastic. I would stay there again if given the opportunity. The only drawback to us was we had to climb four flights of stairs to reach our apartment (which was lovely), but we were pulling along a weeks worth of clothing in a suitcase weighing 50 lbs and then we had another flight of stairs to our loft bedroom. Not so easy on 50+ year old knees. :(

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The peacefulness and unique buidlings
Liked least: four flights of stairs to get to our apartment and then stayed in the loft bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review this property, we are pleased that you had a wonderful stay.
Our website clearly states the floor level and location of each property and so I am sorry that you were surprised by this. However, we will look carefully at how this is displayed on the site as there are always improvements to be made; ultimately we do not wish for guests to feel they were mis informed no matter how beautifully appointed the property.
Kindest regards
Jasmine Nicholson
Customer services
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCLN_4
Passau, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Marvellous plase”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Loved the flat, a lot of space and very high standard equipped. We had a good time there, everything you can think off is at this place up to best standard to keep yourself entertained , to relax or to enjoy nature. Also a good spot to explore the sightseeings around - and you are happy to come home to Taliker as it is a really joyful place to stay.
Also loved very much the clay shooting with monster adventure, with nice views of the valley from the shooting place as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lot of space for everyone - even for 5 adults
Liked least: lot of climbing the stairs into the top of the building
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay in Talisker apartment. We are pleased that you had a wonderful holiday and hope you will take advantage of our repeat guest discount. We are pleased that you have taken advantage of one of many out door activities. This area has something for all ages.
Kindest regards
Jasmine
Customer Service Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nails6
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique apartment in a fantasy land setting”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of six fit comfortably in this three bedroom unit. The large gothic windows in the family room overlook the courtyard and outdoor chess set. One bedroom is a loft over the family room. We really liked the high gothic ceilings, fine fabrics, and high level of finish. Beds very comfortable and curtains provided good darkening. Our only critique is that the second full bath has only a tub and no shower.

Lots of activities and spectacular sights at the Abbey. Fort Augustus is a fun small town and a five minute walk.

Certainly hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique atmosphere
Liked least: Only one shower
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we welcome all comments positive or negative in order to improve our customer service and property facilities. In response to your comments the owner has installed a large double walk in shower in the family bathroom and there is also a single walk in shower in the en suite bathroom (plus separate bath). At Highland Club Direct all customer reviews are referred back to the owner and addressed.

Thank you for your business and we hope you will holiday with us on another occasion.

Kindest regards
From all at Highland Club Direct
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesAS
Salem, CT
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was a great apartment, in a great place and close to many wonderful things to do.

The owner, Joanne, was very helpful and nice.

The apartment has 3 bedrooms, one of which is a loft room. We weren't aware of this and it would have made a difference since we were travelling with other adults but we made it work. It is a really cool loft room though!

There are two bathrooms BUT only the master en-suite has a shower. We weren't sure why because the "family bath" could easily be fit with a shower in the tub. This, too, would have made a difference but we didn't notice. I would suggest putting a shower in this room. It's much more friendly to those staying here in a group rather than family.

This apartment was beautiful, the beds comfortable with a fully funtioning kitchen (we noticed on the last day there wasn't a microwave) including an all in one washer.

If I wanted to complain about anything I would say we wish the doors would be oiled, they were really squeaky and we wish there was a shower in each bathroom.

The old monastery that the apartment is in has a great pool, it's gorgeous, on nice property and within really close walking distance to town and all the restaurants, etc. It's a great place. Would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback from guests. We wanted to reassure future guests that we have now provided a microwave and have installed a second double walk in shower.

Thank from the team at Highland Club Direct and the owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing