We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Lovat, Loch Ness(Fort Augustus)
USD 301
USD 194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Ness Guest House(Fort Augustus)
USD 153
USD 148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White House(Fort Augustus)
USD 193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 213
USD 206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Invergarry Hotel(Invergarry)
USD 281
USD 255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Highland Club Scotland(Fort Augustus)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inch Hotel(Fort Augustus)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suardal B&B(Fort Augustus)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaufort House(Fort Augustus)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
131
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe superior double roombeautiful forestfresh fruit etcforested areabased on tripadvisor reviewsdirections providedquiet place to staylarge comfortable loungefree wifi connectionoffered tea coffeelocal knowledgeb and bprunesvery pleasant staymoment you arriveplaces to visitshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Mavisburn B&B was located 2 miles from the town centre of Fort Augustus and was set in a beautiful & relaxing forested area.
Elaine was very welcoming and offered tea & coffee on our arrival & after a 12 hour drive that was just what we needed.
Elaine was very knowledgeable about the area & recommended things to do & places to eat.
Our room was spacious, very comfortable & the en-suite was spotless.
There is a large comfortable lounge & free wifi connection which is high speed.
There was a good selection of breakfast cereal, fresh fruit etc & lots of choice for the cooked breakfast. It was beautifully cooked & very tasty.
Would definitely recommend it to anyone.
Thank you Elaine & John

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FowlPlay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Hi Luke and Laura

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, you were both very welcome here. We are really pleased that you found everything you needed and that you enjoyed our breakfast too!

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Kind regards
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed 1 night here in April. Everything about the stay was perfect from the hosts to the room and the breakfast to the very last minute booking they managed to get us at a nearby restaurant for dinner. A great B&B, we would definitely return if we found ourselves in the area again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are really pleased that we were able to help you get a table at the restaurant and that you felt comfortable with us.

It was a pleasure to meet you and you would be more than welcome if you find yourselves in the area again.

Thanks again.

Best wishes
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

We chose this fabulous little B&B based on TripAdvisor reviews and the fact that it was a little bit out from the main town of Fort Augustus and boy are we glad we did!
We arrived to a lovely welcome from John who showed us around their beautiful home and into our room. We had booked the superior double which was large and beautifully furnished. He then went on to tell us about the local area and gave us great advice on where to eat, but most importantly the closing times of the local restaurants as it's earlier than you would expect (especially if you're from a big town)!
We took his recommendation and ate at the Boathouse. Highly recommended.
We had a very comfortable nights sleep and then it was down to breakfast and what a treat it was. Elaine was the most welcoming host and we had a delicious full Scottish breakfast along with cereals, yoghurt, lovey prunes and as much toast as we could pack away. All washed down with gorgeously strong tea. We chatted about our plans for the coming days and many other subjects with Elaine who again gave us lots of ideas on places to visit on our route that day to Skye.
We would highly recommend this little gem of a place.
Thanks Elaine and John for making our first night in the highlands a memorable one.
The boys ;-) x

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sluffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and John and I are delighted that we were able to make your stay with us an enjoyable one. We are also very pleased that we were able to help you get the most out of your trip up here and to Skye.

It was a pleasure to meet you both.

Thank you again.

Best wishes
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

The rooms are very spacious, clean and equipped with all the necessities. Elaine and John are marvelous hosts. So warm and welcoming it nearly feels like you're visiting family. No complaints whatsoever!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shrnmallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hello and thank you so much for this very kind review! We are so pleased that you felt so at home during you time with us. You were more than welcome and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Best wishes
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Previous review was following my 40th and the wife's present being a "road-trip" around our wonderful Isles, in our little old classic MX5 (got for 300 quid from well known auction site! kerching! - sorry)...aaaanywaaay, appreciate it says "visited since your last review" etc, but I'm wanting to try to highlight this place for any upcoming awards / nominations??? Is there a "Tripadvisor certificate of excellence"? or travellers award(s)???
Droning on, point being, this place stands out, bearing in mind my road-trip was from West Yorks' to Scotland, round Scotland and sail to Ireland. ALL over Ireland - North AND South. Mavisburn stands out! Stands out because ---- Comfortable - unassuming - down to earth owners - great food - SUPER CLEAN! -Soooooper comfy rooms. Very reasonable rates! Given a choice between there and all-inclusive 6 star hotel with free mini-bar?????? Shove your tiny bottles of Bacardi Breezer where the built-in ironing boards goes! Mavisburn every time!
So, to see Tripadvisor seemingly favourable to larger companies..... dunno what's going on there but hope it's not a shareholders profits and corporate slimey pole getting a grip of it!??? - Cooooommmmeee ooooon ! Lets keep it real folks.
I have NO affiliation - NO freebies - NOT a critic.
I like my comforts - I like my privacy BUT I like good customer service!
Rare as those equine toys that go forward and backward if they were to leave wooden plops on the floor??? (Think).....

Happy Days Mavisburn!!!

Room Tip: Don't listen to the "too far from the shops".20 minutes stroll.Don't be a sheep! Do we not go places like this for peace and relaxation?
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Oh my word! I am speechless! Thank you so much for this amazing, frank and to the point review!

We are very proud to hold a Trip Advisor Award for Excellence again this last year and we hope to continue as we have been in future.

John and I really appreciate you taking the time to place your review and hope the car is still giving you lots of fun.

Thank you

Best wishes
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews