We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
135
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john and elaine the superior double room beautiful forest fresh fruit etc forested area based on tripadvisor reviews directions provided quiet place to stay large comfortable lounge would highly recommend a stay here free wifi connection offered tea coffee perfect hosts local knowledge places to visit moment you arrive prunes
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was our first night in Scotland in early May and we had such a wonderful sleep after a tiresome journey. The hosts, John & Elaine, made us feel welcome and warm on a rainy day. Since we are vegetarians, our breakfast choices have been limited, but John and Elaine catered to our special needs and made a wonderful breakfast (ask for their grilled tomatoes & beans - you will ask for seconds and thirds).

It is true that this house is located away from the town, but Elaine was very helpful by sending the GPS coordinates beforehand. We did not have any issues with the directions provided.

Our only regret - the stay was too short. Scotland / Fort Augustus beckons us...so does Mavisburn B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raokaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you very much for writing a review on your stay here with us last month. We are very pleased that you had a good nights rest after your drive up from Edinburgh and that you were comfortable for your stay.

We try to cater for all dietary requirements and we are delighted that you enjoyed your hot choice of grilled tomato's and beans.

Thank you again, we appreciate your kind words.

Best Wishes
Elaine & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent one night here, arriving tired after a long drive up from England.
The welcome was warm, the room very comfortable and had an excellent breakfast next morning. Our hosts were very friendly and suggested a few places to visit en-route to Skye.
We can recommend this as a base to visit this area or, as we did, a stopover when driving further into Scotland.

Room Tip: They will all be quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidswiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for placing a review on here for us and we are both delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that the room was comfortable for you both. We are also very pleased that your enjoyed your breakfast before setting off to Skye.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you enjoyed the little tips on the way to Skye too! It was lovely to meet you both.

Thank you again.

Kind regards
Elaine & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Really enjoyed our one night stay at Mavisburn. We were a party of four adults and one teenager and all of us could have stayed here for a lot longer. Excellent location for touring the West of Scotland, would definitely like to return to enjoy the hospitality which is second to none. Couldn't fault it from the breakfast to the bedrooms and, of course, our hosts, so friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Hello and thank you so much for your lovely review.

John and I are really pleased that you all enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to help in ensuring that your stay was a good one.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Scotland and thank you again for your kind review.

You would be more than welcome should you find your way up here again.

Kind regards
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed (unfortunately) only for one night but loved it. This B&B is located very quiet just a couple of minutes outside of Fort Augustus and simply beautiful. The house itself is clean and wonderfully decorated, the hosts are very friendly and the breakfast just right. Sitting in the breakfast/living room you have a nice view on a beautyfully arranged garden. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HugoHackenbusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review on your short stay here with us. John and I are really pleased that although, as you say it was a short stay, you nevertheless enjoyed our peaceful haven in the forest!

Thank you again, it was a pleasure to meet you all.

Kind regards
Elaine & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We only stayed there one night as a stopover on our way to Skye. The best thing I can say is I wish we could have stopped for longer. Lovely setting in the middle of a forest clearing; very quiet and peaceful; and very dark at night - no street lights! We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and during our short stay; great breakfast to start our day and onward journey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hello Alan and thank you for this lovely review.

John and I are really pleased that we helped make your onward journey to Skye a memorable one for you both! We hope that you enjoyed your stay on the Island and had a good journey back home.

Thank you again, we appreciate your comments greatly.

Best wishes to you both
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews