We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”

Links House at Royal Dornoch
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 68 - USD 68
Description: The Orangerie restaurant at Links House Hotel, a 5 star country house hotel. We offer a fine dining dinner menu with 3 options for each course. We are a small business and use only local seasonal fresh produce, we will always do our best to take bookings on the day but we cannot always guarantee this . We also offer afternoon tea and Sunday lunches in April, October, November and December. Dinner includes an appetiser and is served March - December 6.30 - 9.30pm Other months - 6.30 - 8.30pm Reservations essential
Restaurant details
Description: The Orangerie restaurant at Links House Hotel, a 5 star country house hotel. We offer a fine dining dinner menu with 3 options for each course. We are a small business and use only local seasonal fresh produce, we will always do our best to take bookings on the day but we cannot always guarantee this . We also offer afternoon tea and Sunday lunches in April, October, November and December. Dinner includes an appetiser and is served March - December 6.30 - 9.30pm Other months - 6.30 - 8.30pm Reservations essential
Reviewed 9 November 2018

Everyone complimented the food, it was superb, the service was exceptional, well co-ordinated and ensured all 22 of us were promptly served at each course.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank McTours-Ltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal here on our last night in Dornoch. The service was excellent and very friendly. The cocktail list was interesting and our server was very helpful and informative. The menu selection was very good and the food was delicious. The atmosphere and decorating was beautiful. We were able to see some of the rooms too which were beautiful. The only complaint is how warm the fireplace made the room. It was beautiful but at times uncomfortable.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Schmooglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

The hotel is stunning. Everything has been done to the finest detail, and Fraser the host was genial and courteous with humour and wit in the correct quantities without being invasive.

The restaurant space is tasteful, befitting of it’s surroundings, and spacious.

We opted for the tasting menu, it was too good looking not to try it, and at £70 it turned out to be something of a bargain for the quality of fare and cooking expertise.

Everything, and I mean everything, was executed with technical perfection. I cannot pick fault with any element on any of the dishes. Monk fish, scallops, langoustines, lamb, mousseline...... all cooked perfectly. Sauces and accompaniments were deep and rich in flavour, with the flavours and quantities balanced and delightful.

The whole experience was a triumph of local Scottish produce cooked to the highest fine-dining standards.

It is far and away the best meal I’ve eaten in the uk this year. It surpasses meals I’ve eaten in some 4 & 5 AA rosette and 2 star Michelin restaurants, and I cannot recommend it highly enough! It’s easily 4 rosette & 1 star worthy, no hesitations!

The best thing is, it’s almost on my doorstep and I don’t have to get on a plane to eat here!

We’ll be back soon, great cooking chef!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank n10wlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scjs, Public Relations Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you so much for your excellent review.
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time at Links House and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

From the moment we arrived, the staff at Links House made us welcome showing us into the library for pre-lunch drinks and allowing us to study the menu at leisure before leading us to our table next to a roaring fire. The food was exquisite - I chose a starter of cheese & leek tarte tatin, followed by melt in the mouth beef with duck fat roasted potatoes and topped off with lemon tart for dessert. All in all a wonderful experience, which we look forward to repeating.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Had a great three night stay at Links House while playing golf at Carnegie Club, Royal Dornoch and Castle Stuart. Stayed in the Evelix Suite on the second floor of the Glenshiel building. Room was very comfortable and cozy, while having every amenity. Staff is very accommodating, and common rooms are excellent for having a pre-dinner cocktail or watching the Ryder Cup on TV. Overall, an excellent place to stay with a great view, beautiful surroundings, convenient location and capable, welcoming staff.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank PRPJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Links House at Royal Dornoch also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Links House at Royal Dornoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing