We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good little cafe”

Harry Gow Bakery - Dornoch
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Dornoch
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 October 2018

People go into Harry Gows to buy their home made pies, pastries, cakes etc and they are famous for their produce. However, they serve delicious coffee and the prices are very reasonable. This makes a difference if you are on a budget and don’t want to spend too much in cafes. Try this one, you won’t be disappointed. I know it’s not fancy but it’s wholesome.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Viv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserGow, Public Relations Manager at Harry Gow Bakery - Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you Viv - delighted you enjoy our products so much!! All our products are freshly made from scratch ingredients and we do take time to cost them accurately so really pleased that you find them reasonably priced. Have to agree with you that our freshly ground coffee is delicious!!! Thanks again and hope to see you again soon. best wishes from all at the HG Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018

Lovely pies and cakes. Friendly service and the sandwiches for the Beach are great too.. This was not my first visit.
We first visited 3 years ago and call in whenever we are in Dornoch.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserGow, Public Relations Manager at Harry Gow Bakery - Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thanks Tom for your your great comments. Delighted you enjoyed our products so much and found our staff friendly. Thank you also for returning when your are in the area your support is much appreciated. Best wishes from the HG Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Until recently, I’d never heard of Harry Gow’s, but now realise that they are a very well-known company in the Highlands.

We finally got to sample some of Mr Gow’s wares when we were in Dornoch and had a couple of his pies. The macaroni cheese one was pretty good, and the steak pie was fabulous. Flaky pastry and a generous filling of tasty beef and rich gravy - this is without doubt the best steak pie I’ve had from a baker’s shop.
Can’t wait to try others in the range.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserGow, Public Relations Manager at Harry Gow Bakery - Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Hi John - delighted you enjoyed our pies so much. We do take a lot of time and effort to get them just right so to receive feedback like this is very encouraging.

Thank you so much for the great rating and review - much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon. From all the HG team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We were visiting Dornoch for four days and decided to have carry out food from here.
Day 1 Very tasty Scotch Broth piping hot with a coronation chicken sandwich
Day 2 Beautifully fresh rolls 1 cheese and salad 1 ham and cheese
Day 3 Mince and tattie pies hot and yummy
Day 4 Fresh Rolls 1 chicken and salad 1 ham and cheese
It all was so fresh and really good and the service was efficient and friendly even when it was busy.
Excellent

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserGow, Public Relations Manager at Harry Gow Bakery - Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi Alison

Thank you for your excellent review! Delighted you enjoyed so many of our products and that you visited our Dornoch shop every day during your visit. We do work hard to deliver the best products possible with excellent customer service so your positive feedback is very much appreciated. Best wishes from the HG Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Dnt forget to visit Gows when in Dornoch. Lovely Bakery, good snack menu and take aways soups filled rolls etc. Capaldi ice cream. Great staff. Popular place.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank mas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry G, Public Relations Manager at Harry Gow Bakery - Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for your excellent rating and review. Delighted you enjoyed our products so much. Best wishes from all at the HG Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry Gow Bakery - Dornoch also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Harry Gow Bakery - Dornoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing