We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal, friendly service”
Review of Luigi's Restaurant

Luigi's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 40
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Luigi Is A Modern & Friendly Restaurant Centrally Located In The Charming Northern Scottish Coastal Town Of Dornoch.by Day We Are A Cafe Serving Lavazza Coffee, Homemade Cakes & Soups, Fresh Salads, Seasonal Specials By Night Our Menu Is Contemporary European With An Emphasis On Scottish Seafood & Locally Sourced Ingredients.
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

We had lunch at Luigi's today on a drive up north to Golspie. The restaurant came recommended by the Royal Golf Club hotel. The interior is modern and decorated elegantly and the hosts are very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Food was delicious with plenty options on the a la carte menu and also many specials on the black board. We all loved our choices: tempura sole and chips, beef cheek pasta, prawn and chorizo linguine, fish and seafood board, and to finish chocolate brownie and plum and almond tart. The pastry of the tart was extremely thin and short and very well baked... no soggy bottom there. The wine list looked fab (heteroclite mix of Italian, French, NZ, Oz, USA, Chilean) and reasonably priced between £20 and £30 per bottle. Unfortunately we were driving so couldn't sample.
Thank you to he chef, waitresses and owner for an excellent meal and a great culinary experience. We'll recommend the address.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank nicandjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2018

a superb modern bistro with a quirky maitre D. in shorts!! always busy and full of happy noise of folk enjoying excellent cuisine served with humour and skill.
the seafood is my favorite-- lobster or languistine are great but for the hungry golfer the seafood linguini it THE business--- not that the lamb or the steaks dissapoint and nor does anything else from a highly skilled kitchen that delivers excellent fayre.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank email961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Very nice restaurant the food was very good ,crab cakes were delicious as was the cod dish I had . The restaurant was very busy but the girls serving were very friendly and helpful..I would do something with the lighting it is far to bright in the resturant especially if your in for a an evening meal .

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Skye8690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Warm a d welcoming, we where served by the owner Chris. I had the tempura prawns, lobster and ending with sticky toffee pudding couldn't fault the meal. My husband had chicken liver pate then the same as myself.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Tasty Lunch and great atmosphere ❤️
We were eating with friends lots of choice.

The specials are always good with a great variety

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Mrs-D-Mackay-1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luigi's Restaurant also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Luigi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing