We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

The Courthouse Cafe
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 25
Description: Located on the first floor in the former Sheriff Courtroom The Courthouse Cafe serves delicious breakfast, lunches, home baking and speciality teas and coffees 9-5 seven days a week. Also now open for evening meals every Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Booking advised for evenings.
Restaurant details
Description: Located on the first floor in the former Sheriff Courtroom The Courthouse Cafe serves delicious breakfast, lunches, home baking and speciality teas and coffees 9-5 seven days a week. Also now open for evening meals every Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Booking advised for evenings.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quickly welcomed and shown to a table. Enjoyed soup and a hearty toastie, baking looked tempting! Obviously popular with locals, good buzz of conversation. The mural of a range of personalities important to Dornoch is great.
By the way there is a disabled toilet on the ground floor - possibly the only public one in the town, ramps up to front door. There is a lift up to the cafe on the 1st floor and plenty of room for a wheelchair at the tables.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank koala16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018

Been here a few times now and can not fault it one bit. The staff, service, atmosphere and food are all to a very high standard. We also attended a wedding here and the food was fantastic, so much so we returned for lunch the following day. Huge thanks to the wonderful staff and compliments to the chefs. Next time we visit Dornoch we will definitely be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 933Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

This place is, first of all, candy to the eyes!
Located in the 1849 Courthouse, this Scottish Victorian renaissance building has later been renovated, with superb style and atmosphere outcome as to us.

If you (like me) are passionate about interior design, you must visit this place (the toilet too)!

Besides that, food was good. We had: a delicious soup, ham&cheese stuffed chicken breast, and a flavourful smoked salmon carpaccio with crème fraiche and dill dressing .

Service: professional.

Price per quality: a little bit expensive… but you pay also for the location here, and it’s worth.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elisabetta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Yes. Great location, very clean, smart décor but that is where it ends for me. The food was of average quality and price but it could (without a lot of effort) be wonderful.
Very busy so not everybody agrees with me! Ok but will not be writing home about it...……………….just a review on TA

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markwE4742KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

We ate lunch there and later had coffee and pastries. The lunch was very good 2 of us had the soup of the day while the other 2 had the quiche of the day. The service was very good, even though it was quite crowded when we were there. Later we enjoyed the desserts and pastries. They were wonderful along with the coffee drinks. The decor is interesting and includes a large mural depicting local luminaries.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Schmooglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courthouse Cafe also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to The Courthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing