We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless lunch and premises”

The Courthouse Cafe
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 25
Description: Located on the first floor in the former Sheriff Courtroom The Courthouse Cafe serves delicious breakfast, lunches, home baking and speciality teas and coffees 9-5 seven days a week. Also now open for evening meals every Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Booking advised for evenings.
Restaurant details
Description: Located on the first floor in the former Sheriff Courtroom The Courthouse Cafe serves delicious breakfast, lunches, home baking and speciality teas and coffees 9-5 seven days a week. Also now open for evening meals every Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Booking advised for evenings.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Visited on a weekday lunch. Had the chicken BLT which was delicious with the tastiest, freshest fries. The Cajun seasoning put me in mind of Five Guys' fries but without the overly salty seasoning, just lightly delicious. I'm not sure what sauce the chicken was in maybe ranch or something but again DELICIOUS!

The patisserie section looked impeccable but I was defeated after the lunch and expressos. The service was unobtrusive and impeccable. The toilets were clean, stylish and well attended. Nothing was ostentatious; just very, very good food, served well in lovely surroundings. I could highly recommend here to anyone with no hesitation. One of the best overall lunches I've had.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Caithnessian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Was out walking and popped in to dodge the hail, rain and snow. Cosy restaurant, very efficient and friendly staff, super fast service and fantastic warm, tasty food.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Carris1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

What a brilliant setting for a cafe! Quite a quirky place with a variety of seating with the back drop of a mural of past and present folk from the Dornoch area. This alone is worth a visit. However the food is the real star. Varied and tasty! Had soup and sandwiches which were very good but I could see from other customers the varied menu looked good. Well worth a visit!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank VisitingHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Family made a visit on Easter Sunday and we were so impressed. Amazing sandwiches - bread was so soft and tasty fillings even more so
Cakes ...... well where do I start. Maybe I’ll just share a picture. Will def be back

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank susan_cameron3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

A very welcome addition to beautiful Dornoch. Building has been tastefully restored and the food and service were excellent. We shared a yummy hot smoked salmon wrap & had warm scones which were the best I have had in a long time.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courthouse Cafe also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to The Courthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing