We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
984 results
Traveller rating
599
240
72
40
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
599
240
72
40
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch earn dog friendly hotel dog biscuits fine dining loch view rubber duck homemade shortbread main restaurant scallops local walks dining room public areas wine list first class short break beautiful location hotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 984 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having stayed at this hotel some years before and enjoyed the quality of the hotel, food and staff at that time, my wife booked us a weekend away for my birthday in one of the chalets near the hotel as before.
We hadn’t realised that the year before the hotel had been taken over by a new owner. Susan the new owner is a lovely hostess and very welcoming though in keeping with our previous visit there was a lot lacking sadly.
The attention to detail with the limited menu in the main restaurant was lacking a chef with consistency, (we were told there was a new chef, the new chef needs to memorise the menu better)at times missing foods listed on a meal as part of the menu. The food itself was generally cooked to perfection.All this adds to the full dining experience that this hotel has a reputation for.. Additionally at times the food was not as hot as it should have been when served . In the main restaurant the prices seemed extortionate especially the starters and deserts. The mains were generally of an average price. Some people even said the main restaurant was too expensive.
Many areas need updating throughout the hotel and chalets. I guess this will happen in time though there’s no excuse for cobwebs everywhere in the chalets. The staff though lovely aren’t of a highly trained standard, lacking with a fine dining etiquette hotel that shows.
I would like to say from what we have gathered, Susan may just need time to adapt to creating the experience you might think of booking a stay there for. another issue though dogs are allowed in every bedroom and chalets. I feel this should be refined to dogs only allowed in certain bedrooms as not everyone wants to stay in a room previously drooled over by a dog/some people may not even like dogs.
Our overall stay was generally very nice and would come back again in maybe two or three years.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, Owner at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is most helpful in identifying areas of attention.

As mentioned there is a new chef and as you mentioned there was a limited menu in the main restaurant. This is standard industry practice for new chefs to introduce a new menu gradually to a new team and within a new kitchen, for the exact reasons you mention. I am thus sorry you experienced food that was not quite as it should have been. The Meall Reamhar is a 2 rosette restaurant and thus dishes are complex and reflect a high skill set within the kitchen team. Combined with the need to cover our overheads over a restricted season as opposed to 12 months of trading as in a city, sadly our prices are a little more expensive than some. I have, since taking the hotel over, dispensed with the 4 course menu price of £42 and now offer guests the flexibility of a full a la carte menu with a view of catering for all pockets.


We are a pet friendly hotel, we have a hotel dog but during our closed period earlier this year I made a decision to create a pet free wing. All rooms here have been deep cleaned and redecorated.


Refurbishment is restricted to closed periods, so like the forth road bridge, I think the hotel will be a long term project!


I hope that this reassures you of my intentions. I would also like to thank you again for taking the time to provide us with you thoughts. It is appreciated.

Best wishes, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hubby and I, plus our two cocker spaniels, just spent a week staying in St Fillans and ate at the Tarken 6 nights out of 7 as the food was delicious and the restaurant dog friendly. The staff were really chatty and friendly and so good with the dogs.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, Owner at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed your visit to Loch Earn and chose us as your preferred eating option. It is lovely to know that people enjoy coming back to us time and again so will certainly be passing back your comments to staff. Hope to see you next time. Best wishes, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Called in "on spec" as we were passing and needing a place to stay whilst waiting for our car to be repaired at a nearby garage. We were greeted with a very warm helpful welcome by Susan at reception who gave us a lovely room with a wonderful loch view. The food was lovely, we had 2 evening meals there and ended up staying 3 nights. All the staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. Couldn't fault it and hope very much to return.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CarolB1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, Owner at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Will certainly pass on the feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Booked for our 40th anniversary.the hotel and staff could not have been more helpful. Our chalet was ideal as we have 2 dogs. We would love to go back again. The bar and restaurant served excellent food.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank issylonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, Owner at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. Am so glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope that we will see you again soon. Best wishes, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The photos on the website are literally misleading. It looked so quaint and pretty! And for the price, we expected just that. From the parking lot you could see how run down it was, peeling paint, inside old carpets and furniture - everything smelled like wet dog. Then they showed us to our apartment: Vivaldi. We were led through a "court yard" -- a depressing passage where you could see empty beer cans in the window sills of the employee's quarters and all the eaves were infested (and I don't say that lightly) with swallow nests, so of course, down below was like a cake iced with swallow poop. Deep whiff of mildew, then visibly layered with dust, spider webs and dog dander. Decorated no later than 1988, I told the kids not to take off their shoes, ever. The next morning at breakfast, we found our reserved table in the dining hall which we had reluctantly organized the day before. The small parquet buffet area was so sticky that it made noise when you crossed it - it's like a war was fought right there - with rum punch. It pulled on your shoes. They graciously let us leave 2 days early. Shame on this place. They need bring it up to standard or make it a dog kennel once and for all.

Room Tip: There is no good room.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank famonthemove_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, Owner at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and I am sorry that we did not live up to expectations.

The apartment sits outside our 3* AA rating and at £60/£80 for self catering is considered value for money by many. I'm sorry that you did not appreciate that the lounge had in fact recently been redecorated.
Equally, some would consider "old" as retro, vintage or indeed antique - it is all down to interpretation and values.

There are, as you stated, a number of birds nests in the area, all of which are protected. Many of our guests enjoy watching the swifts and martins.

There is also a flat at the bottom of the stairs and unfortunately I cannot dictate to people what they put on window sills in rooms or in the flats.

The "Dining Hall" as you put it is actually the " AA Rosette" Meall Reamhar Restaurant. A large restaurant, it has spectacular views across the loch. The spaciousness adds to the atmosphere there. Accidents do happen in buffet areas and unfortunately we cannot always put the remedial action fully into place during busy periods to deal with situations but rest assured, this was picked up on.

I hope that the above clarifies our position on some of the points raised. Kind regards, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews