We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didnt even get to stay - Terrible way to treat people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“We didnt even get to stay - Terrible way to treat people”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Myself and my friend booked a 5pm big deal for this hotel which was £99 for bed and breakfast and a spa treatment. We booked to go on the 17 Feb and booked our spa treatments. This was a birthday treat for myself.

We set off on the 17th Feb to the hotel and whilst on route we were in car accident whereby most myself and my friend were taken to hospital and the police contacted.

My friend has a broken hand and i had seat belt and whiplash injuries resulting in us not getting released from hospital until 7.30pm at night.

My friends mum contacted the hotel straight after the accident to let them know that we would not be able to come and she was told that it was company 'policy' that we had lost our booking and would not be allowed to change the date or get a refund. We had lost our money.

After being released from hospital and told this information i contacted the manager of the hotel who informed me that this was indeed correct and we would not be entitled to anything.

Considering our horrific experience we were shocked and disgusted with the hotel for not being more sympathetic or understanding.

We appreciate that they lost the room for the night but this was completely outwith our control and we made sure we contacted them as soon after the accident as we could even though we had other things to contend with.

Would not recommend this hotel. I obviously never got to experience the hotel itself but on service and customer care alone it severely was below standard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhenderson_8, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
I am very sorry to hear that you had an accident.As reception did explain to yourself and the lady that called the hotel using the profound language about the cancellation policy even after that it was myself that had the conversation with your friend explaining that we had to adhear to the company policies. As im sure you can understand we have this policy flat across the board as to avoid having an opinion of the event that occurs as quite offend people call with similar occurrences which we will not comment to what we believe or disbelieve as it is simply the company policy to charge 100% of the stay if canceled within 14 days of arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    192
    100
    43
    36
See reviews for
116
617
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Had a fantastic day spa at Knock Castle. The treatments were amazing and the food was great. Was very relaxing in the pool, sauna and steam room. Had such a good time, would highly recommend. Thanks to all the staff who gave us a wonderful day.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhenderson_8, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you very much for the compliments i will be sure to pass them on the all the staff.And i am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed one night at the lovely Knock castle hotel and Spa for a romantic post valentines treat for my wife and I.
Check in was nice and easy, reception staff were very friendly, and we were shown to our deluxe castle room by the staff which we felt was a nice touch. I paid a little extra for a deluxe castle room ours was ‘Strathern’. Room was lovely, bright and spacious, with a fantastic king size bed, and a roll top bath by the window which my wife loved. The en-suite was very modern with a great shower; room was clean with ‘Knock castle’ on the bed sheets and pillow cases.
We had booked our dinner for 7:30 and went down prompt and were shown to seats by the very efficient and friendly staff. I was a little disappointed to learn at the dinner table however that although we had pay for Dinner bed and breakfast we had a £30 allowance for our dinner and anything over that cost was ‘a supplement’ We were given plenty of choice however, the bar menu with standard fare such a steak pie, scampi and the like, the menu which was included in our supplement, and the ‘ala carte ‘menu which would have added to the cost.
We were invited to ‘mix and match’ which on reflection gave us much more choice, my wife only took her starter from the bar menu. The food is prepared to order, so there is a little waiting between courses, this however IS explained on the menu, and by no mean detracts from the dining experience. I had pheasant sausage, Lamb and Ice cream my wife to Haggis (from the bar menu), the grilled sea Bream, and poached pear fro desert. The food quite simply was wonderful, beautifully cooked and presented; the portions were also of a good size not to over fill you. Even with our mix and match we didn’t incur any supplement charges, and all were paid for was our drinks.

The hotel was also very quiet at night, with guest encouraged to keep the noise down after 10:30 so were slept very well in our massive big bed!

Breakfast in the morning was just as nice, with the full cooked breakfast, made to order and with fresh Scottish food, most enjoyable, with a nice selection of breads, croissants and cold meats/cheeses, cereals, and fruit juices to tempt you.
There is a spa and gym, being a gym monster I checked it out, and it looked adequate for most, the pool is a nice size, and the Jacuzzi is excellent, was quite disappointed with the steam room and sauna however which were not that big, and certainly not hot enough!!
Now for the bad points, however are very minor but worth noting. The changing areas were unmanned, and there were no towels, we made do with 2 HAND towels, and young family came in after us, and there was NO towels available for them, they had to make do with used ones!, which in my opinion is unacceptable!, calling reception no one would answer. I make this point, as we were told specifically on check in that fresh towels were available. The changing area is in my opinion not in the same keeping with the rest of the facility, the changing area is unisex, I found it small, a little drab, and the plastic drain cover at the top end was broken and I nearly put my foot through it.
Parking at the hotel is also difficult, and cramped, thank god for parking sensors!.
Check out again was fast efficient and friendly. We had a wonderful 1 nights stays at Knock castle and would certainly come back again, the staff are very friendly, and we believe as it’s a fairly small hotel, the staff can give you a bit more attention than you might expect at a larger/busier hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a delux castle room you wont be disapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigdel5412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhenderson_8, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.Also as we operate a continual program of improvement so we value your points that you made and will address them.
In regards to the towels i totally agree with you and was on over sight or our part which i have spoken to the relevant departments regarding this.
Also the broken cover has been replaced.
In regards to the parking nothing had ever been brought to my attention before but will be happy to look into it for you
Thank you very much for the compliments i will be sure to pass them on the all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for a night at Knock Castle. I booked the room for a treat for her birthday and was looking forward to a weekend of pampering and great food and we were not disappointed!

When we arrived we were greeted warmly at reception, the entrance to the hotel was very grand and clean and nicely decorated. We had a massage booked for the afternoon. The massage itself was fantastic, and just what we both needed after a long drive and I'm sure that we gave the massage girls plenty of knots to work on!
After the massage we made our way down to the pool which was located away from the main building. The pool was again clean and spacious and had great views over the valley below and the castle behind us. The jacuzzi was also a welcome and warm relief for us both. We stayed in the pool for over an hour completely undisturbed by any other guests which was unusual and really helped to set the tone for the relaxing weekend ahead.

After relxing by the pool we made our way to our room, we stayed in the deluxe Loch Earn suite which came with four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and monsoon shower. The room was perfect for us, and the bed was one of the comfiest we had ever stayed in! If ou are wanting to take a loved one away for a romantic geaway then this is certainly the room to chose.

We made our way down to dinner and decided to go for the set taster menu which offered 6 courses for £49 each. We was recomended a lovely bottle of wine by Matt the restaurant manager which went with the meal perfectly. The food arrived quickly and was cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious!

After we had gone back to the room we had trouble getting the jacuzzi bath to work, we phoned down to reception who said they would send someone up, less than a minute later the hotel manager / head chef was at the door to look at the bath, fresh from cooking amazing meals for the whole hotel! Jason couldnt have been more friendly and helpful and was a great character as well and a credit to the hotel.

In summary we had a great time at Knock Castle, the location was perfect, the food stunning and the staff couldnt have been more helpful and pleasant. We will definately be going back!

Room Tip: Stay in the Loch Earn Deluxe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rab_McHuggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhenderson_8, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Wow what can i say apart from thank you for your very kind words and i must say that you were very nice customers to look after. i would really like to welcome you back to knock castle anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My friends and I visited Knock Castle for a spa day at the weekend, and had a really nice time. The leisure facilites were clean and well equipped. The pool was a lovely temperature - perfect for floating around and relaxing, but big enough to have a swim if you want. the Jacuzzi was divine. The steam room could have been a bit steamier, but thats personal taste! We had lunch which was very nice, jsut soup and sandwiches - didnt want to eat too much before our treatments but they were very nice and our waiter was very attentive. We then went for our massages and chilled in the relaxation room before headong home. The staff couldnt have been nicer or more accommodating. Well worth a wee visit for a spa day. Just wish we had beens staying over and could have sampled the wine list!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhenderson_8, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Dawn888,
I am delighted that you and your friends had such a good time at the hotel, our main aim is to provide the personal touch with all of our guests. The wine menu is outstanding and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future so you get the opportunity to try some of our wonderful wines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
22.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.9 km away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
548 reviews
14.8 km away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,946 reviews
36.6 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,812 reviews
18.2 km away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knock Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knock Castle Hotel & Spa

Property: Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Address: Drummond Terrace, Crieff PH7 4AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price range (per night): $229 - $404
Hotel Class:4 star — Knock Castle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for great Scottish hospitality, award-winning food, stunning countryside and a luxurious country retreat, Knock Castle has it all. You could be in search of a quiet meal out together, a weekend break in the heart of Scotland, an unrivalled wedding venue or a great place for business - you’ll find we offer exactly what you require and real value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knock Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knock Castle Hotel Crieff
Knock Castle Hotel And Spa
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing