We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Eagles Rest

Views from the Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views from the Lodge
Out door sitting area Outdoor view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Views from the Lodge
Out door sitting area
Outdoor view
Living space
Open plan living space
Living space2
Kitchen
Dining area
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom2
Master bedroom view of walk-in and en-suite
Bath in en-suite
The twin room2
The twin room
Shower room
Bowl on table
Gleneagles Loch
Glendevon hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Joanne S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This lodge is extremely comfortable, cosy and well equipped and also well located for exploring the local area. The owners couldn't have been more helpful. We would definitely love to come back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Joanne and Fergus, thank you for your very kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We endeavour to meet all our guests needs. We look forward to maybe booking with us again in the future. Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1955n-i-g...
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Excellent Accommodation, More than we had hoped for. Lynn(the owner) had thought of everything.
A quiet and peaceful location, away from the hustle and bustle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinamcg67
Denny, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

FANTASTIC

We have just spent a great weekend here, ideal place to go and relax. The lodge was more than we had expected. Comfortable, immaculate and every need is catered for. It was like home from home and we will most definitely be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could do better, much better.”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our stay was pleasant and comfortable during some exciting seasonal weather. The lodge was warm, and the facilities functional. We had a good decent break.
We did have some issues, and the reaction of the owner was poor, describing our disruption as of a minor nature. In fact, we had delayed entry to the lodge because the entry key was missing, lost all electricity during the second day due the meter been insufficiently loaded for our stay, the TV did not function due to poor maintenance, and the lodge had major water leakages in two places.
We have rented the use of lodges on several occasions, in terms of satisfaction this was by far the least of them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Owners reaction to complaint
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Allan, I am very pleased to hear your stay was warm, pleasant and facilities functional. I am sorry the keys were not in the keysafe at 3pm as per instructions PDF. They did arrive by 3.30pm, this occured due to the previous guests requesting a later departure time. However I am sorry for the inconvienence this caused you.
As previously communicated, regarding the electricity, my cleaner was very sorry this happened, it was troublesome trying to obtain the top up cards during the festive time. Thankfully she was able to obtain and top up, within an hour of you alerting her to this.
With regards to the TV, I can understand your frustration, thankfully the TV works and the issue with the remote control has been resolved.
Since raising the water leakage issue with me, to be fair you didn't raise as "major" in previous communication. We have found that the vent in the kitchen needs a new seal, as you rightly pointed out. During your stay there was a lot of rainfall, which may account for this. We have been unable to find an issue with the bathroom leakage you describe. Thank you for making me aware of this very important issue.

In my defence the issues you raised as they occured were dealt within a very reasonable time, although admittedly shouldnt have happened. The issues you raised after your stay are being looked into and resolved as able. We acknowledged the points you raised and offered you some compensation, with which we followed the guidelines regarging complaints. Unfortunately this was not to your satisfaction.

We are sorry this remains unresolved for you.

We are one family with one lodge. So making it as warm, pleasant and comfortable as possible, will always remain our goal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janey130
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT STAY HERE !!”
Reviewed 19 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

DO NOT STAY HERE !!!
We booked this rental through holiday letting ?.... Paid £170 plus £50 damage deposit !!! For 2 nights
Upon arrival after an exhausting 4 hour journey ( sadly someone lost their life on the m6 motorway .... )
We were welcomed with a freezing cold cabin that had NO heating no HOT water ! faulty boiler!! cupboard doors hanging off !! pools of water on the kitchen work tops...... !! Water running down the windows !! After spending nearly an hour trying to get hold of someone to help we finally managed to get hold of the owner who was most PUT out that we were being an inconvenience to her fri night out !!! At this time it was 11pm at night we were told to look at the manual for the boiler and to restart it .... NO MANUAL to be found for said faulty boiler ....... No evidence the boiler has been serviced for 2 years !!! We were told that we would have to make do until the morning when the cleaner would arrive with 2 electric fires !!! We pleaded with her better nature to help us find somewhere else to stay and she slammed the phone down on both of us........ We had to drive 15 miles at 11.30pm at night to a travel lodge . We returned the next day at lunch time and to NO surprise ?... No electric fires Either !!!! So we took photos and left ... ...... We have had to fight to get our money back . Sadly I know things can go wrong in the hospitality business but it's how you handle the problem and how you manage your fee paying guests that is the most important thing .... If this lady had shown us some kindness and understanding then she would NOT be getting this review!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2016
As you can read for yourself these guest were very upset by their experience, which we feel was an unfortunate situation, the heating has always worked and unfortunately had a fault which these guests found on late arrival at the lodge. I made all efforts to get a plumber for them that evening. Yet sadly no plumbers could attend that evening. I was able to get a plumber the next day and the heating was working later. The guest had decided to leave the previous night. As the owner I did everything I could to sort this problem. As you can read for yourself they were dissatisfied with the outcome. The guests got a full refund from holiday letting. I don't have the same view on what happened and I am sorry these guests viewed it soo negatively. I can assure all future guests the heating works and does have safety certificates, which do not get kept at the lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing