We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Gleneagles - King's, Queen's, Wee and PGA Centenary Courses
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

So well maintained, so pretty, even in rough weather these courses have a way of bringing out the best in someones game as long as you can get the ball to the fairway across big carries. The best greens you will ever put on. The Queens is the prettiest but the Kings has that wow factor in spades.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank petewithleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    35
    13
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stewarton
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Top class golf”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The condition of the course was first class considering the severe winter we just encountered.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingpig1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great starter course with real variety”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Wee course (now called PGA Academy) is a great starter par 3 course, plenty of differences between the holes and a great place to get out there for the very first time

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakobstad
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Landscaping at its best.”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We played the Kings course. For a mid handicaper (16) this is a very challanging course. Against the wind, uphill and over 400 yards par 4:s isn´t really reacheble in two. Before we came to the course it had rained for many days. The greens were in lousy contition (swampy). The facilities were outstanding.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Some work to be done”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We played the PGA Centenary 3 years almost to the day before the Ryder Cup and despite very heavy rain for the fortnight before our round, the greens were some of the best I have ever played.

I understand there are issues with this course, the distances between holes, the proximity to the M9 and the design of a few holes, but the condition it was in was superb.

Work does need to be done on some holes, the 18th notably, and a couple of the Par 4's on the back 9 are a little devoid of charater, but the front 9 is very good and exciting and the Scottish Public will flood (hopefully based on 2010 no pun intended) to support. I hope improvements made aid the weaker areas of the course, but it was a thporuoghly enjoyable and challenging round.

Afterwards grab a beer in the Dormy clubhouse, the ambiance is great, watching people finsih on the Queen's is fun and the quality of service matches the Hotel.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gleneagles - King's, Queen's, Wee and PGA Centenary Courses also viewed

Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Gleneagles - King's, Queen's, Wee and PGA Centenary Courses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing