We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So relaxing!”

Review of The Doocot Dunning

The Doocot
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Doocot
Inside the cottage Looking out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Doocot
Inside the cottage
Looking out
Cosy log burning stove
Kitchen
Jam and scones to welcome you
Breakfast time
Conservatory
Into the bathroom
Superking size bed
Dressing gowns supplied
Bedroom detail
Honeymoon bedroom
Honeymoon bedroom
Deck with garden furniture
Cottage garden with swing seat
View from the deck
Cheeky Blue tit peeking in the conservatory window
Hammock in the garden - perfect for relaxing
View across the gardens to the original 'Doocot'
View from the cottage windows
Fresh free range eggs available!
View from the deck
Swing seat
Detail of the original 'Doocot'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
2016AvaT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So relaxing!”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had the most wonderful short stay at the Doocot Dunning. The cottage is set in the most lovely grounds, is well equipped and the housekeeping of a high standard. The little extra touches were great such as the lovely scones and homemade jam on arrival. Situated just outside the village of Dunning it was a short walk to reach the local pub restaurant and grocery store. I would definitely recommend this cottage for a get away from it all relaxing break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Glad you enjoyed yourselves - all feedback is taken into account and hopefully benefits the next guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
Harrison, Maine
1 review
“The Most Perfect Cottage In Scotland”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage is warm and welcoming with everything you could want or need during your stay. The hosts were kind, friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The setting is peaceful and quiet and it was easy to drive anywhere we wanted to go from there. We have been to Scotland 8 times and this was the best place we stayed by far. I would highly recommend booking this lovely cottage for a most comfortable and relaxing home away from home. We will be back as soon as we can to enjoy the views from the porch, the lovely hosts and the best cottage in the Perth area. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm, gracious hosts, beautiful setting, cozy cottage
Liked least: can't find anything bad to say - everyhting perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
So glad you had a good holiday with us and it would be lovely to see you again on your next visit! I popped down to the farmshop (Broadslap, Dunning) and the manager was asking after you both ... he said to send his regards. Best wishes, H
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotspete
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Every aspect catered for, definitely a gem in the holiday accommodation in Scotland”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Seeing pictures and reading reviews made us want to book this cottage but after seeing it for ourselves we can honestly say that this has to be one of the top cottages for couples in central Scotland area.... oozing peace, tranquility and fabulous uninterrupted views of the resident chickens running past the window (and patio) a few times per day, you can see that every thought has been put into the property by Hillary and Bruce from the moment you arrive with the warm friendly greetings, followed by complimentary (and home-made) scones and jam.

Every needed has been catered for and things like cooking utensil's, hairdryer, free toilet shampoos, shower gels, matching robes, books, games, TV, DVD, i-pod base etc are all part of the service (and charm) with the piece' de resitance of the cottage being the warm, cosy and undeniably romantic open log fire which really did add a special touch to our weekend.

Highly recommend this place, it's truly one of the nicest we've stayed at and one that we most certainly would come back to at another opportunity.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thanks Peter - glad you enjoyed everything. We always try as hard as we can to make guests welcome so its wonderful to read that its appreciated. Hope to see you both again. H
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamcswigg
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage Hideaway”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We have holidayed at The Doocot now on multiple occasions and find it to be perfect for us. It's great to get a one bedroom cottage to stay in with so much character. It's clean, modern and very well equipped and with many personal extra touches from Hilary which we love. The quiet, private grounds are ideal for a very relaxing getaway but also within easy walking distance of the lovely little village of Dunning. Perth and numerous local attractions are within driving distance. This really is the perfect little cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private secluded grounds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
Thank you - it's always such a pleasure to welcome you back. Until next year ...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim Z
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Stunning place, relaxed, very very friendly welcome from Hilary & Bruce”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This was our second visit in 5 months which says enough. The surrounding is stunning, quit, and very comfortable. Hilary & Bruce are very nice people and do every thing they can to make your stay successful. If you like golf there is a great 9 holes course on pitching wedge distance away from the Doocot. So do not hesitate if you want to stay in a beautiful place within an hour driving from Edinburgh, Glasgow and 45 mins from St Andrews. We for sure will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Those are such lovely things to say! Look forward to seeing you again soon ... Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 187
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing