We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding ”
Review of Thyme at Errichel

Thyme at Errichel
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Aberfeldy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 50 - USD 89
Cuisines: Scottish, Fusion
Description: Open 6pm Oct-Apr: Thu-Sat (3 nights). May-Sept: Tue-Sat (5 nights). Chef - Patron, Paul Newman has an enviable culinary background having lead Chef Teams within some of the most prestigious hospitality destinations in the world. Paul brings his wealth of knowledge to beautiful Highland Perthshire. Paul is a member of the Slow Food Chefs' Alliance, a network of Chefs committed to showcasing produce from the Slow Food's Ark of Taste and other local, artisans and producers. The Menu - The Menu at Thyme changes on a weekly basis to reflect Thyme’s Philosophy of Good Taste. Chef – Patron Paul sources quality, local, seasonal ingredients which are then prepared by Paul and his team to showcase the best in local & regional Scottish produce with flavours and influences from around the world. The Ingredients - Producing our own beef, pork, cured meats, bacon all served in Thyme at Errichel alongside Venison and game shot locally.
Restaurant details
Description: Open 6pm Oct-Apr: Thu-Sat (3 nights). May-Sept: Tue-Sat (5 nights). Chef - Patron, Paul Newman has an enviable culinary background having lead Chef Teams within some of the most prestigious hospitality destinations in the world. Paul brings his wealth of knowledge to beautiful Highland Perthshire. Paul is a member of the Slow Food Chefs' Alliance, a network of Chefs committed to showcasing produce from the Slow Food's Ark of Taste and other local, artisans and producers. The Menu - The Menu at Thyme changes on a weekly basis to reflect Thyme’s Philosophy of Good Taste. Chef – Patron Paul sources quality, local, seasonal ingredients which are then prepared by Paul and his team to showcase the best in local & regional Scottish produce with flavours and influences from around the world. The Ingredients - Producing our own beef, pork, cured meats, bacon all served in Thyme at Errichel alongside Venison and game shot locally.
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Four friends out for dinner
service and food all very good the chef Paul Newman came out to talk with us after the meal
all food sourced locally and all in all a lovely evening out
with wine it’s not cheap
Bought two jars of Paul’s chilli relish to take home

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank daveb653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errichel, Owner at Thyme at Errichel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

It was great to welcome you all to Thyme, we are delighted you all enjoyed and hope the kumquat and chilli chutney hits the mark for you when you get home! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, hope we can welcome you again one day. With best wishes from all of us at Errichel and Thyme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018

We had a lovely meal at the Thyme while staying in Aberfeldy.
The restaurant is set in lovely grounds. The ambiance here is perfect for a relaxed meal.
Dinner was moderately expensive but the food more than made up for it.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank perthdon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errichel, Owner at Thyme at Errichel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! Great to know you enjoyed your experience with us and hope we can welcome you back some day soon. Best wishes from the Errichel & Thyme team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Everything about the wood and decor of the restaurant was outstanding unfortunately the meal was not. The two starters of game terrine and one of salmon were nice but the main courses of lamb for two and haddock for one was very disappointing! Again the desserts which were Creme Brûlée was nice. One bottle of wine, tap water and two tonics came to £50 per head was too much for the quality and that is from someone used to Edinburgh prices!!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Agnes2golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errichel, Owner at Thyme at Errichel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. Whilst I am glad to hear you enjoyed your starters and desserts and our setting, I am very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your main courses. Had Paul been aware that you were not happy with your main course he would have been the first to address this for you as he would never want any guest to leave dissatisfied. Your feedback has been communicated to the Errichel team as part of our continual efforts to maintain our standards. With best wishes from the Errichel Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We were delighted to arrange to dine at Thyme at short notice while we were on holiday. The staff were friendly and helpful in making the booking via email. My friend and I both thought the restaurant and the food were top quality and I wish I had discovered it a week earlier so I could have made more than one visit. We were celebrating a significant birthday a little ahead of time and it was a perfect location. Looking forward to a return visit when I'm next in Perthshire.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank CWharton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errichel, Manager at Thyme at Errichel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you so much for letting us know you enjoyed your experience! We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town. Best wishes and many thanks, from all the team at Errichel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We were a party of 4 who dined here last night. The menu was not extensive but the food was fantastic. We were seated at a table which had a full window view of the fields and mountains around us,it was fantastic. If you are in the area this restaurant is definitely worth a visit. A 3 course meal was £39 pp.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Marjorie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errichel, Manager at Thyme at Errichel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thanks for your lovely feedback! Delighted you enjoyed and hope we can welcome you back one day! Best wishes from the Team at Errichel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thyme at Errichel also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Thyme at Errichel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing