We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
21
24
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
24
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small island comfortable place small hotel place to stay bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Cozy and welcoming. Comfortable and modest. Good food. Westray offers great views, hiking trails and history. The Pierowall Hotel was a haven to return to after exploring the island. The menu offered delicious seafood and other basic entrees. The bar is cozy and stocked well. Simple, dated, clean. I enjoyed this place immensely.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank auntieolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

With Westray’s population of only around 600, it’s surprising that the Pierowall Hotel exists at all. The building was built as the home of the minister, and as a hotel continues to provide welcome and comfort for the traveler. Our bedroom was smallish but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, and the menu in the dining room offered varied and changing options. Everything we had was very good.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HMC633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Really nice small family run hotel on a beautiful island with great views! Staff are all lovely. Our room was quite small but spotlessly clean and comfortable. modern clean bathroom. Breakfast was delicious with a good selection to choose from.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Rae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Westray is one of more remote of the Orkney Isles, so there's not much choice with hotels. This place was certainly ok, with pleasant staff and comfy, although very dated rooms. We ate in the restaurant for two nights, the fish and chips was great, rest of the meals were very average although the puddings were very good. Overall the service could have been faster though. If you're staying in Westray I'd certainly recommend it, although don't go in with high expectations.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank HenryHound46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in Oct. We were a family party with 4 adults and a child. Our room was very comfy, clean and quiet (and warm!). The other room was a bit smaller but still comfy and clean. The hotel has a lovely restaurant which changes its menu pretty much every night. The food was great quality. One night we asked if there was any crab and the owner went out specially to buy some fresh crabs from the pier - great service! The staff were friendly and welcoming.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ginnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews