We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
21
24
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
24
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was visiting the island whilst working and stayed at the Pierowall Hotel for one night. Dont let first impressions fool you as mentioned previously, its like the Tardis. You walk in and the place just sees to open up. The room which I had was, although a little dated, very comfortable and bright. I ate in the bar and the food was tasty although I do have my suspicions that the ingredients came from a jar...........................

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

One of only two establishments on the small island of Westray that appear to describe themselves as a 'hotel', the Pierowall is centrally situated overlooking Pierowall Bay. It does not look large from the outside but has around seven bedrooms.

We were allocated a well-appointed room with a compact en suite. The latter had an efficient electric shower unit but was let down by a needlessly tiny hand basin of closet toilet proportions, made more difficult to use by being awkwardly placed under a shelf. This said, there was a shared bathroom with full-size amenities nearby. The towel rail was unheated so used towels remained damp. There was a radiator in the room but this was not needed during the mild weather that we experienced. Annoyingly, there was an apparent reluctance to restock sundries such as a spare toilet roll and twice we had to ask for a new roll. On the positive side, there was an abundance of twin 13A power sockets around the room. These comments apply to Room 2 which is at the side of the hotel overlooking neighbouring roof-tops.

We took dinner at the hotel each night. The restaurant is very popular with the island community as well as visitors camping and hosteling. Breakfast and dinner were wholesome - the fish & chips here is a particular speciality and reputedly the best in Orkney. The wine is very reasonably priced. Dinner on our final night was disrupted by the arrival on Westray of a large wedding party and we had to make the best of it, eating a bar meal on our laps in the public lounge, which we accepted was in all a good cause. The proprietor kindly donated a bottle of wine for our trouble.

There is reliable wifi throughout the hotel which was particularly important because throughout our stay on Westray we received no EE (aka Orange) signal on our mobile phones. All the hotel rooms are adorned with many excellent prints from the local Wheeling Steen gallery.

One should clearly adjust one's expectations when staying on a remote Scottish island and I have given a higher rating than I would have normally, but the hotel itself could go further by attending to small but easy details such as ensuring essential toiletries are restocked.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Microtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A small, friendly hotel with comfortable & spaceous rooms. The hotel looks over the bay & we explored the island from Pierowall on our Bikes!!! Must see Noups Head, Noltland Castle, Cross Kirk & Cemetry & visit the many sandy beaches, but on a bike !!!
Wholesome cooking & cosy bar !!

Room tip: we enjoyed our room at the rear of the building
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Didn't sleep here so bit about rooms being excellent is only a guess (I couldn't leave it blank!) but had two meals which were lovely and great value. Great location and very accommodating staff. We stayed at the Barn which was excellent and they recommended the hotel. The island is beautiful with the most wonderful little airfield, a creepy but excellent castle and excellent bird reserves

Date of stay: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed overnight 5th August with our two German Shepherds.Arrived mid afternoon to glorious sunshine ate fish & chips in the garden absolutely delicious. Breakfast following morning equally so. Lovely room with view over the sea. if you have a chance to visit Westray then recommend staying at The Pierowall or at least enjoy a meal there.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews