We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wheems Cottage get away”
other travellers have booked this property
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothy
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothy view Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothies
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothy
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothy view
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothies
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothy sockets and heater
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothy mattreses
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothy shared kitchen
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothy shared loos
Wheems sign
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothy showers and kitchen - hot water and basic facilities
Wheems Eco Glamping Pod / Bothies view
Wheems Eco Glamping Pods / Bothies designed and made on the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
St Margaret's Hope, South Ronaldsay, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura M
2 reviews
“Wheems Cottage get away”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Being pet friendly was a must for us and our boy. He is used to travelling with us and we found that the cottage was just perfect.
Location was ideal and very easy to find. The cottage was snug but ideal to retreat to after a day exploring.
We liked that we were left alone to enjoy our holiday but knew people were at hand should we need them. The added touch of eggs as a welcome gift was ideal and used from breakfast on our first morning.
We even walked to the "local" pub in St Margarets Hope an easy two miles away and stoated up the road in the wee hours.
Would stay again should we return to the Island.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clared200...
2 reviews
“A beautiful, friendly site in a lovely location”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The glamping pods were lovely - there are now 4 of them, none of them are overlooked and they have a gorgeous view of the bay. The pods fitted 2 people with ease and would have accommodated one more comfortably. The site was well kept and everyone was friendly and helpful. The kitchen and shower areas are quirky but very usable. These areas work on a communal basis and some people are better than others at tidying up after themselves. Wet weather will also always make loo floors dirty quickly on this type of site. However site staff/owners were very quick to rectify any issues should they arise and did so in the calmest, most pleasant manner. There was a whole variety of items that could be borrowed by visitors - tennis racquets, bucket and spade etc. One of the nocest camp sites I've ever been to. A little off the beaten track but close enough to get to all the sites you could wish to in Orkney and so, so peaceful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Hi Clare, thanks so much for your lovely and informative review, it is much appreciated and we are so glad you had a nice stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki S
Barraba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For the young at heart”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great views , pod was windproof and ample bedding supplied. Good camping facilities with good range of cooking facililties. Great spot for campers , but ecopod overpriced when compared to hostels in similar areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Price of pods compared to hostels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Hi Vicki, Thank you for your review, I am sorry you thought this camping pod was too expensive, we thought quite hard about the pricing and would hate to think it unfairly priced. It is cheap compared to eco pods elsewhere in Scotland and I have just done another comparison check in case! Best wishes, Islay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing