We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All shades of brilliant. Bring time.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Space

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rousay, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katrin W
1 review
“All shades of brilliant. Bring time.”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This place is an absolute gem. So much attention to detail and creativity went into creating this very unique property. I felt at home the minute I walked through the door and never stopped exploring until I left. From solar panels to kajaks to a wheelchair accessible bathroom, there is literally everything you could ever want. The kitchen comes with a washing machine, a dishwasher, and a massive supply of ingredients, which is very handy if you arrive there on a saturday night the way I did. There were even fresh eggs from the housekeeper's chickens (a brilliant, lovely and very helpful woman called Clare, ask her to make you shortbread!). Then, there's the grand piano in the kirk. You can absolutely knock yourself out in that place creatively without ever bothering a soul. Should you venture out (it'll be hard!), there is plenty on Rousay to explore and you'll find a selection of guides and books and flyers to help you along. The pier is within walking distance, so taking the boat somewhere is always a possibility. I never got round to that. Next time, I'm staying longer and I'll bring along everyone I know, including my parents (if you were to bring elderly people along, it'd probably be a good idea to have a car to get around the island, though convieniently, the doctor's next door), my dog, the band and a bunch of random kids. I can't wait to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: I didn't
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Corby Glen, United Kingdom
1 review
“We want to go back!”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

"At the end of October we stayed for a week at the Space - and we didn't want to go back home. I can't recommend it highly enough - the only drawback is how far away it is. If it were closer, we'd be there every weekend, so maybe it's a good thing it is. There's plenty else to see on the island of Rousay if you're just looking for a break - good walks, ancient monuments, deeply impressive scenery, beaches, seals, local characters and if you're very lucky - puffins!


The Space has all the facilities you'll need for a self catering holiday and comfortable enough sleeping space for 8-10 people as far as I could see (7 of us were there at the time), and it's attractively decorated throughout to a high standard (and apologies for sounding like an estate agent). Although it functions brilliantly well as a holiday cottage, that's not the primary selling point.

The main attraction has to be the old Kirk hall which is now a recording studio/rehearsal space. My son did some acoustic recording there performing pieces on guitar, flute and violin, and the results were outstanding. The natural reverb and overall acoustics are worth the journey alone. The space itself is big enough for dance or theatre workshopping as well. You won't be disappointed!"

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Out B
1 review
“Peaceful, homely and perfectly suited.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

As a party of musicians looking to record, our use of The Space was two-fold. We got to appreciate it's excellent natural acoustics and expanding musical facilities, but also we were hugely impressed with it as a holiday home.
Given the intensive and tiring work involved in recording an album, the wonderful scenery and location was the perfect foil allowing us to relax between studio takes. the rooms were all well equipped and clean so a good night's rest was assured as was a good feed during the day thanks to well-maintained facilities (not to mention a generous array of non-perishable goods laid on by the owners).
Likewise the copious bathrooms (1 wet room and 3 en suite) meant nobody was left bursting for a pee. These were all also well stocked with products and clean comfortable linen and towels were in generous supply.
The island is tiny and it requires significant adjustment for city-dwellers but I can only emphasise how refreshing this is. One shop, open very rarely during the week One pub. No chippies. No cafes. No supermarkets. It's a forced isolation that is genuinely highly productive for musicians not to mention extremely therapeutic for holidaymakers. The locals are also nothing but friendly,even if they enjoy a chuckle when you ask if there is a cafe or chip shop.
I would strongly recommend taking some time out of any recording to make sure you visit the beaches on the island early in the morning and encounter the numerous seals, otters and wild birds that are not in any hurry to run away.
Likewise I would hugely recommend a trip to the various archaeological sites, some older than the pyramids, which are mercifully free of admittance fees or security guards. You can respectfully enter these ancient premises and admire the astounding views the inhabitants of old must have enjoyed.
If you are planning on recording the new Blonde on Blonde or writing the next great novel, this is the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impossible to choose.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodkersh
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wish I could live there”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fantastic fortnight staying at the Space -
seven of us arrived by ferry and had a wonderful time enjoying the scenery, silence, wildlife, sites and views - life on Rousay is different to anything I or my family had experienced before.
The physical dislocation from mainland UK was the first thing, then everything else followed.
The Space is wonderful and we couldn't have asked for more.
The old Kirk has been sensitively (and quirkily) restored;
Rousay has beautiful clear waters, fascinating beaches, cairns and neolithic burial mounds, mainland Orkney is also very interesting with Skara Brae, stone circles and other places that you can imagine are unchanged for hundreds of years.
Please visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 70's style static caravan took me back to being a youngster
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unique and beautiful island retreat”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is an extraordinary, unique property. Beautifully restored old church with all mod cons, in an idyllic setting right beside the sea. Extremely comfortable for 6. For a party of 8, the small upstairs bedrooms would be quite cramped with 2 people in each, but fine for children or young people. On the other hand there are 4 showers/toilets which is quite a luxury. Rousay is perfect for getting away from it all. Hire a bike at the farm and cycle round the whole island (steep hills, you have to be quite fit). Visit the Mid-Howe broch and chambered cairn, both amongst the most spectacular in Scotland. Wonderful walks, specially at the NW and NE corners of the island. We saw seals and puffins, cormorants and an otter. The house is within easy walking distance of the ferry, so a car is not even essential, although very useful for getting to the shop, which is tiny but has almost everything you might need, even petrol. If the weather is bad, take a trip back to Orkney mainland, where there is a lot to do and see. Tingwall jetty to Kirkwall takes only about 20 minutes by car. One of the best holidays ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the church building and the beautiful location right next the sea
Liked least: Upstairs bedrooms a bit cramped if used by 2 people
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing