We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic residence made outstanding by the hosts, Mr. and Mrs. Worthington.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Stromness B&B and Inns
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic residence made outstanding by the hosts, Mr. and Mrs. Worthington.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My husband and I were recently stormed in an extra day, the Worthingtons were above and beyond with thier kindness. The rooms are tidy, cosy and well appointed. Breakfadt if you are B & B-ing it is excellent. Tom and Eileen were very knowledgeable about good spots to eat on the island. The upstairs guest lounge is a great place to while away time in foul weather. I would, without reservation, recommend this place to anyone. Hope to.visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Tom & Eileen were very welcoming and helpful. Even emailing us to find out how we got on when they found out that our trip to Shetland was in doubt when we had been let down by the Guest House there.
Would definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Eileen & Tom Worthington are excellent hosts and have a great place up on the hill out of Stromness, with stunning views over the harbour to Hoy. Tom lent me a pair of binoculars for our time there which was unasked for and much appreciated. I'm busy planning my next trip to Orkney and I'll gladly stay with them again. Recommended. Not the easiest place to find using their website information, but just call or email for directions and then it is simple to find.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drr0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed four nights at Lindesfarne in August 2010. When our ferry arrived in Stromness I called to get directions; the B&B was easy to find and convenient to the ferry. Eileen met us at the door. Throughout our stay the Worthington's went our of their way to make our stay comfortable. From helping us with reservations at Maeshowe (highly recommended) to feeding us breakfast early when we had to catch a ferry, they consistently went out of their way make our stay relaxing and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for more ...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gkichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

Lindisfarne is only a short way out of Stromness with good views over it and out to the hills on Hoy. The rooms are spacious and the welcome warm. (Walls between rooms are a bit thin so that noise does percolate through, but not to the extent of being a great problem). Stromness is a good location for West Mainland. Good breakfast and overall a good value location

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
1.8 km away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
18.5 km away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
9.0 km away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
18.5 km away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.7 km away
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness
#3 of 11 in Stromness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lindisfarne, Stromness KW16 3EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Price range (per night): $126 - $136
Hotel Class:3 star — Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindisfarne is a detached house set in a rural location overlooking the town of Stromness with views of scapa flow, the island of Graemsay, Hoy hills and the island of Hoy. Stromness is approximately one mile from the house and has all the local amenities you will require including shops, cafes, pubs, restaurants along with many tourist attractions. The main bus route is only a 2 minute walk away from the accommodation. The Bed & Breakfast accommodation consists of 4 twin rooms, 3 of which can be double rooms and are all ensuite. Each room has a flat screen TV with freeview, free WiFi, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and shaver point. There is newly installed air source heating so you can adjust the temperature to suit you. There is a guest lounge which can be accessed anytime throughout the day with views of stromness harbour/town to the front and open farmland and Steness Loch to the rear. The self catering accommodation consists of an open plan living room/kitchen diner, two bedrooms sleeping four, one double and one twin bedroom and a shower room. It has unlimited WiFi, TV and DVD player, private parking and a small patio area where guests can sit and relax and take in the view. Pets are welcome by arrangement. We are a young Orcadian family looking forward to welcoming you and making your stay on Orkney as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing