We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in Orkney”

Eviedale Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Evie
Price range: USD 3 - USD 26
Description: Bistro serving sourdough pizza, sourdough sandwiches and toasties, artisan coffees, artisan hot chocolate. Visit our website for further details.
Restaurant details
Description: Bistro serving sourdough pizza, sourdough sandwiches and toasties, artisan coffees, artisan hot chocolate. Visit our website for further details.
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Had the sourdough-based pizza and wasn't disappointed. The mother starter was developed using a locally grown and milled grain unique to Orkney making the pizza dough unlike any other. The base was thin, crispy, light and fired to perfection - well, not quite perfection but after the proposed wood-fired pizza oven is installed (for next year?) the pizza will be faultless... A+++++

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We always like to stop here for coffee and cake when visiting Evie. The cafe is really well presented, service is a good, food great and warm welcome as standard. Having heard good things about the pizza we decided to stop by in the evening. Including friends and our young son we totalled six and they fitted us in well (we did book, I think this is recommended for the evening). We had some charcuterie platters to start which were lovely, really liked Fletts salted beef. For main we had a variety of pizzas. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed these. They were nice and thin done on homemade sour dough. A variety of toppings are on offer and you can add extra if you wish. We were unable the mage a desert as we were all stuffed. They currently have a BYOB policy asking for a small donation to a charity.
I would recommend here as a great place for both tourists and locals. The only shame is that I believe they aren't staying open for winter.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Z2262FFpaulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa P, Owner at Eviedale Cafe & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thanks for your lovely in depth review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to do this. We are glad you all enjoyed your pizza evening and sorry that we will not be open during the winter this year. Hopefully in the future we will be able to keep the Bistro open during the winter months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Meal was really good and value for money. Service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and staff.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 742mrsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa P, Owner at Eviedale Cafe & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. i will pass on your compliments to the staff, it is lovely to have such positive feedback, makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We visited the Bistro on Saturday evening and had a great meal. We ordered different Pizzas and added extra toppings with our friendly attentive waitress.
Our Pizzas arrived quickly and were hot and delicious. The dough was tasty and just the right thickness with the correct amount of toppings.
I had a coffee which was without doubt the best tasting ( and best coffee art ) I have bought on Orkney.
All together a first class experience and we look forward to many further visits.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScottishPict84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa P, Owner at Eviedale Cafe & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your pizza evening. We work really hard to ensure the highest quality products are served in our Bistro and we are very glad that you took the time to give us such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you to Eviedale in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

We found the cafe purely by chance and what a gem it turned out to be! Scrumptious home baked cakes, seriously good coffee (not that easy to find on Orkney), cosy interior and welcoming owner. Would come back in no time. Do visit, it's worth it!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank melquiades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa P, Owner at Eviedale Cafe & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for your visit and lovely review, we really do appreciate the positive feedback, you are welcome back anytime to Eviedale.
Philippa & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eviedale Cafe & Bistro also viewed

 
Birsay, Orkney Islands
Rousay, Orkney Islands
 
St Margaret's Hope, South Ronaldsay
Kirkwall, Mainland
 

Been to Eviedale Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing