We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Sunbathing Modern kitchen with all home comforts
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Sunbathing
Modern kitchen with all home comforts
Comfortable dining and relaxing area
Beautiful double bedroom with memory foam mattress for your ultimate comfort.
Twin room with memory foam mattresses.
Shower room
Tammie Norrie or puffin showing off his very smart coat!
A frequent occurence in Orkney is the Northern Lights or Aurora Borealis
Springtime at Kringla
Sunrise and Sunsets are magnificent
Yes this is an Orkney beach!
Sea angling, bird watching or just enjoying the scenery?
Frosty morning on Boardhouse Loch
Beautiful walks, you never know what you will see round the next corner.
Kringla apartments sign
Surrounding countryside.
Crossroads in Dounby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dounby, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
RonMBaler...
Balerno
1 review
“An excellent apartment”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This was my first visit to Orkney and I was lucky to find Kringla3.
The apartment is first class and Kay is a friendly, caring and informative owner. A lot of thought has been given to fitting out and equipping the apartment and the result is good.
Dounby is a good base from which to tour Mainland Orkney and has adequate shops, a post office and a petrol station.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quality of the apartment.
Liked least: I can't really think of anything.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scalliwag...
Stornoway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful apartment,good central location for exploring,excellent host”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Mum,myself and Skye (the dog) had a luxurious stay in Kringla 2.The apartment was immaculate and very well equipped.The location is ideal for exploring Orkney, central for all the important sights .Dounby is well equipped for shops,pub,Post Office, fuel etc. Kay and her family were more than helpful and full of advise and catered for our every need.It's nice to find somewhere so lovely to stay which is dog-friendly. Hope to return again soon to explore more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious accommodation,ideal location,excellent host
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B
Arcata
1 review
“Good view, excellent accomodations and our host was very helpful”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and I stayed at Kringla for four nights while we attended the 2013 Orkney Folk festival. Brand new, light and airy, extremely clean, good view, and well located on Orkney. We really appreciated our hosts helpful suggestions. Dounby is pretty well located given that Stromness and Skara Brae are probably only 15 or 20 minutes away. Washer and dryer a huge plus as was the large kitchen and living room. A good bargain, we'd come back in an instant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Light, airy, well located
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P
Mountain Ash, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place for a honeymoon”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent our honeymoon week in Kringla 3 and can't praise it highly enough. Kay was kind enough to meet us to show us the flat at midnight (the Aberdeen ferry gets in to Orkney rather late in the evening) and gave us such a warm welcome. Kay had even plotted with some friends of ours behind our back to ensure that a wedding present of local goodies and treats was waiting for us on arrival.
The flat is very comfortable and has amazing natural light, it was a fabulous place to work on projects as well as a base to explore all the prehistoric sites and countryside from. We really didn't want to leave and hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tapstar
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday home!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We've just returned from a lovely week staying in Orkney. Kringla in Dounby was a great base being in the centre of the West Mainland and it's easy driving to the main sights including Skara Brae, Maes Howe, Brough of Gurness, Kirkwall and Stromness. We were out most of the day, but the apartment was a lovely comfortable and warm place to return to after a long day sightseeing, walking or bird watching.

Kay Morgan is a delightful host and knows her island home so well - we found puffins just where she said they would be on our first outing! The apartment is really well appointed with everything you might need to self cater, including our yardstick - a cafetiere to make real coffee. Having a Co-op shop which is open until 10pm, a good butchers shop and a small hotel which serves great food, all just 2 minutes walk away, makes Kringla a very convenient base for visitors. Altogether I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Kringla and I hope it won't be too long until we return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing