We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, local food”
Review of Smithfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smithfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dounby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Central location on West Mainland, this offers both a café lunchtime menu and an evening menu. We called at lunchtime on our way between ferries. It was a rainy day, but the atmosphere welcoming in a sun lounge addition on the front of the hotel. The lunchtime menu is more limited, but is good. I had a take on spaghetti bolognaise with linguine and local produce. Took a couple of pieces of cake away for later - unfortunately they were a little dry.

Was doing good business and is obviously popular with the locals. Serves up to 3pm with last food orders at 2.30, then starts evening meals from 5pm in the main restaurant. Plenty of parking round the back and some on road parking out the front and across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and had a great time. The hotel is friendly and room was clean and spacious with tea and coffee making facilities. The bar run by Christy was friendly, comfy and well stocked. We ate both evenings in the restaurant and again staff especially Gareth very friendly and attentive. The food was tasty, there was plenty of it and it was a good price.
Breakfast was included in the price and again plenty of it and set us up for the day. Plenty of parking at the hotel and a co-op and petrol right across the road with a cashpoint.
Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

My friend and I stopped in for lunch as we were following the craft trail to a local jewelry shop. We sat in the enclosed porch for a delicious lunch of fish and chips. The service was friendly and the battered fish was out of this world fresh and good accompanied by a nice salad. Its right on the road between Skara Brae and Kirkwall so easy to find and get to.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank corbu2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The hotel is well located close to Skara Brae and the Ring of Brodgar and in a small town with a supermarket and petrol station. The room was quiet, warm and comfortable and the bed was very comfortable. You pre-order breakfast day-to-day or more, to suit you and there's a good range to pick from. We really liked the food too, we ate dinner in the hotel every evening, enjoying the well-thought-through veggie options, as well as the fish dishes (we don't eat meat but assume they do that well too). They had a good selection of wines. All in all a very pleasant stay, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichaelACox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I had dinner at this place last weekend. The food was really tasty; good, wholesome, local fayre. Arran was a star, keeping my wine glass topped up. And...very reasonably priced. A brilliant find for food on the island.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angebugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dounby
0 km away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
0 km away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
189 reviews
0 km away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
0 km away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
218 reviews
0 km away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Hotel

Address: Dounby, Dounby KW17 2HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Dounby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dounby
Price Range: $174 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Smithfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing