We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
61
43
11
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
43
11
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skara brae steak evening meal room was clean salad lovely staff warm welcome crab chowder across the road both nights young staff the pub local produce plenty of parking friendly service gluten free recommend this place
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and had a great time. The hotel is friendly and room was clean and spacious with tea and coffee making facilities. The bar run by Christy was friendly, comfy and well stocked. We ate both evenings in the restaurant and again staff especially Gareth very friendly and attentive. The food was tasty, there was plenty of it and it was a good price.
Breakfast was included in the price and again plenty of it and set us up for the day. Plenty of parking at the hotel and a co-op and petrol right across the road with a cashpoint.
Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

My friend and I stopped in for lunch as we were following the craft trail to a local jewelry shop. We sat in the enclosed porch for a delicious lunch of fish and chips. The service was friendly and the battered fish was out of this world fresh and good accompanied by a nice salad. Its right on the road between Skara Brae and Kirkwall so easy to find and get to.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ruth Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The hotel is well located close to Skara Brae and the Ring of Brodgar and in a small town with a supermarket and petrol station. The room was quiet, warm and comfortable and the bed was very comfortable. You pre-order breakfast day-to-day or more, to suit you and there's a good range to pick from. We really liked the food too, we ate dinner in the hotel every evening, enjoying the well-thought-through veggie options, as well as the fish dishes (we don't eat meat but assume they do that well too). They had a good selection of wines. All in all a very pleasant stay, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelACox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I had dinner at this place last weekend. The food was really tasty; good, wholesome, local fayre. Arran was a star, keeping my wine glass topped up. And...very reasonably priced. A brilliant find for food on the island.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angebugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

spent 2 days here, first time in Orkney. Very central west mainland location, well furnished room,lots of attention to details (a late-arrivals menu for us arriving after the restaurant had closed, for e.g). Food good with local produce. More visitor's information in our room would have been nice.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 660rainne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews